title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23

Thread: New drive - have a few questions - please help!

  1. #16
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast Nubben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    137

    Re: New drive - have a few questions - please help!

    Hi Spoon, ok thanks for your reply. Please can you just also answer this question (and I will go away....):

    If I add the +667 offset manually and continue using the drive with that offset (for difficult to rip CDs - it has already ripped a CD accurately which only could be ripped as Insecure on two other drives) as long as I get either an Accurate rip or it is Secure?

    Many thanks

    Nubben

  2. #17
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast Nubben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    137

    Re: New drive - have a few questions - please help!

    Quote Originally Posted by Nubben View Post
    Hi Spoon, ok thanks for your reply. Please can you just also answer this question (and I will go away....):

    If I add the +667 offset manually and continue using the drive with that offset (for difficult to rip CDs - it has already ripped a CD accurately which only could be ripped as Insecure on two other drives) as long as I get either an Accurate rip or it is Secure?

    Many thanks

    Nubben
    Hi Spoon, was wondering if you would be able to opine on this? Many thanks!

    Nubben

  3. #18
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,892

    Re: New drive - have a few questions - please help!

    If you manually enter the offset then AccurateRip will not function (on the PC).

  4. #19
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast Nubben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    137

    Re: New drive - have a few questions - please help!

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    If you manually enter the offset then AccurateRip will not function (on the PC).
    Thanks Spoon - but I thought you could not enter the offset manually on the PC? I am on Mac, where I can enter it manually. So:

    1. Will it still work on the Mac; and
    2. Presumably if I do not rely on AccurateRip using the Secure (only) method it would still be ok?

    Thanks

  5. #20
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,892

    Re: New drive - have a few questions - please help!

    It would probably work OK on the mac.

  6. #21
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,348

    Re: New drive - have a few questions - please help!

    Quote Originally Posted by Nubben View Post
    2. Presumably if I do not rely on AccurateRip using the Secure (only) method it would still be ok?
    Yes, probably OK most of the time, but in my opinion, you don't want to be ripping with a drive that does NOT support AccurateRip. AccurateRip is very valuable and why bother going through the secure ripping process with a drive that doesn't support AR? I suppose you could rip using SECURE ripping and no AR, and then later check those ripped files for AR match using PerfectTunes.

  7. #22
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast Nubben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    137

    Re: New drive - have a few questions - please help!

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    It would probably work OK on the mac.
    Ok, many thanks Spoon - much appreciated.

  8. #23
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast Nubben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    137

    Re: New drive - have a few questions - please help!

    Quote Originally Posted by garym View Post
    Yes, probably OK most of the time, but in my opinion, you don't want to be ripping with a drive that does NOT support AccurateRip. AccurateRip is very valuable and why bother going through the secure ripping process with a drive that doesn't support AR? I suppose you could rip using SECURE ripping and no AR, and then later check those ripped files for AR match using PerfectTunes.
    Many thanks for that Gary - much appreciated

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •