title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

  1. #1
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    59

    End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

    Hi all. This morning I was listening to 320bit MP3 converted from an AIFF rip of a CD.

    I haven't been home to check where the error crept in (i.e., was it on the lossless rip or did it happen during the conversion to MP3) but what's happening is that when a track finishes, the last second or so repeats like an echo.

    Is this a known bug?

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,614

    Re: End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

    Does the echo occur when playing the CD?

  3. #3
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,310

    Re: End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

    Quote Originally Posted by snowdog View Post
    Is this a known bug?
    I've never experienced this in thousands of rips or mp3 conversions. But have never used AIFF either.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    59

    Re: End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

    Okay, so I can confirm that the AIFF files appear to be fine, so something's happened with the conversion.

    Which probably means this thread should be in the other forum! lol

    It also means that, touch wood, I don't have a completely redundant set of lossless rips & I can do some more conversions from the master files.

  5. #5
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    59

    Re: End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

    If you're interested to hear what I was hearing, I've put a couple of tracks here...

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/p6dlaovot...K090JkPda?dl=0

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,167

    Re: End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

    Did you test a different mp3 player?


    Dat Ei

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    59

    Re: End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

    Well, I played them on my phone today - which is when I noticed the problem. I played them through the finder on my Mac & also in iTunes. They exhibited the exact same problem in all these places.

    I've reconverted the AIFF files & they seem to play fine, now.

    I shall re-sync with my phone & play the albums tomorrow. Fingers crossed it's all fixed & I'll know what to do if & when I discover others that have not converted properly.

  8. #8
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    59

    Re: End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

    Also, I posted a link to a couple of the files on Dropbox so that you guys could hear what I'm hearing, but that post doesn't seem to have made it to this thread.

  9. #9
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    59

    Re: End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

    Hi all.

    So this morning I was listening to a different album (Rush - Clockwork Angels) & there was the same "echo" at the end of my MP3 set except this time, instead of being the last moments (as evidenced in the tracks I linked to in an earlier post) it ws a good 5 seconds or more of the track that would repeat (at the point where the "track remaining" count reaches zero).

    I'm hoping I can re-convert the AIFF set & it will fix the problem as it did before, but it seems to be something that wasn't a one off thing.

    I'm lost as to what I might do about it!

  10. #10
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,167

    Re: End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

    Where did you save your mp3 files during the conversion? Did you convert to a local drive?


    Dat Ei

  11. #11
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    59

    Re: End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

    Everything's on the desktop, within my Dropbox folder hierarchy.

    My workflow is to rip the album to a folder on my desktop. I put (AIFF) at the end of the folder name, create an empty folder with the same name except with (320) at the end. They sit next to each other in... Well, to be precise, I've migrated my iTunes library to the Dropbox folder on my desktop (rather than its default location) & everything rips to the "iTunes Media" folder so the folders sit side by side in that location while I'm working on them. (I'm reluctant to digress too much, but I'm perfectly happy with it landing there as I can find it easily, do everything I need to do with converting & saving sleeve art, etc. before I move the AIFF folder to my "Lossless" library & the (320) folder to my iTunes library.) See pic:

    Screen Shot 2019-08-28 at 12.59.23.png

    I use the "batch convert" option, direct it to the (AIFF) folder for its source &, iirc, choose the "single path" option & direct it to the (320) folder, then hit "convert".

    It's basically worked really well up until now, although I should probably check through the MP3s I've made since I started using dbpa & see when the problem started & how often its happened.

    I'm also aware that after I've first ripped the AIFFs, it will take Dropbox a few minutes to sync those with the cloud & that's probably a bad time to start converting them. Not to mention switching off Dropbox syncing while I'm doing the conversion because making files & syncing them at the same time could be a problem. Even though that is exactly what Dropbox is designed to do, you never know how different software might affect it.
    Last edited by snowdog; 08-28-2019 at 07:10 AM.

  12. #12
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,614

    Re: End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

    Please can you supply more information on your system e.g. platform/OS, dBpoweramp version, ALL mp3 conversion settings?

    ... and I definitely would NOT output to a folder monitored by other 3rd party software. This is asking for trouble and may well be the cause of your issue.
    Last edited by mville; 08-28-2019 at 07:17 AM.

  13. #13
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,310

    Re: End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    ... and I definitely would NOT output to a folder monitored by other 3rd party software. This is asking for trouble and may well be the cause of your issue.
    I second this. Rip to a temporary folder on your c drive, NOT a dropbox folder. Then when done ripping, cut and paste the files over to your dropbox folder.

    in the meantime, delete all the mp3 files you created via conversion and rerun conversion on your AIFF files. You can do this as a batch. (This assumes you organize something like I do, where mp3 files that are copies of my flac files are in a different directory than my mp3/AAC files that have no lossless original.)
    Last edited by garym; 08-28-2019 at 07:56 AM.

  14. #14
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    59

    Re: End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

    Thanks for the replies.

    I can't give you detailed information as to the specs requested until I get home, but I'm on an 18 month old MacBook Pro running he latest Apple OS & I bought dbpa about a month or so ago, which may give a clue as to the version number.

    I shall definitely rip & convert to a folder outside of my Dropbox from now on & move things into place afterwards.

  15. #15
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    59

    Re: End of track echo... Is this a known bug?

    Quote Originally Posted by garym View Post
    in the meantime, delete all the mp3 files you created via conversion and rerun conversion on your AIFF files. You can do this as a batch. (This assumes you organize something like I do, where mp3 files that are copies of my flac files are in a different directory than my mp3/AAC files that have no lossless original.)
    Well, my AIFFs are filed by "artist name" & then "album name" folders in a hierarchy that's identical to my iTunes library. Is it a simple process to select all of those folders & batch convert to a corresponding set of folders? Is dbpa clever enough to know which folders these would be or to create them, or would it just put the MP3s alongside the AIFFs & I'd have to move them all manually?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •