title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: AAC (FDK) Fequency cut?

  1. #1
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    78

    AAC (FDK) Fequency cut?

    Is it true that the open source fraunhofer AAC encoder (fdk-aac) doesn't go above 17kHz? Even with 512kbps?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,922

    Re: AAC (FDK) Fequency cut?

    It is true, we can perhaps look at overriding this if possible for the next release.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,922

    Re: AAC (FDK) Fequency cut?

    I took a CD quality track which had 22.5KHZ audio converted to AAC FDK - CBR 512Kbps (on advanced page LC AAC selected), and the spectrum from it showed a cut off at just over 20KHz

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    78

    Re: AAC (FDK) Fequency cut?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    I took a CD quality track which had 22.5KHZ audio converted to AAC FDK - CBR 512Kbps (on advanced page LC AAC selected), and the spectrum from it showed a cut off at just over 20KHz
    So does that mean the 512 one has slightly higher cut off in the default settings? How much does one need?

  5. #5
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    78

    Re: AAC (FDK) Fequency cut?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    It is true, we can perhaps look at overriding this if possible for the next release.
    That would be great, but by your answer it means you could only go up to 20khz

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    1

    Re: AAC (FDK) Fequency cut?

    Wow didn't know this so fdk aac isn't true 44,100khz?

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,922

    Re: AAC (FDK) Fequency cut?

    CD quality is sampled at 44.1KHz, this would give a spectrum of the highest frequency of 22KHz, so FDK is 2KHz off that.

  8. #8

    Re: AAC (FDK) Fequency cut?

    Do the frequency get cut when used vbr too? or just cbr?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •