title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    13

    CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

    When ripping CDs the rip completes then the CPU Encoding is stuck at 0%, tried using 1 CPU, 2 CPUs, 3 CPUs and 4 CPUs still no joy.
    Ripped to Test Conversion and the CPU Encoding is still stuck at 0%
    Uninstalled version 16.6 cleaned the registry and reinstalled, still no cigar.
    Downloaded new installation binaries, and still no luck.
    Installed on a different Windows 10 PC ...nada.
    At this point I am at a loss as what to do next.
    Attached graphic for the issue when doing the Test Conversion option.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,553

    Re: CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

    Are you able to complete a successful rip in Windows safe mode?

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,496

    Re: CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

    Has it ever worked? if so what changed recently?

    It is likely something blocks the CoreConverter.exe from running this handles conversions even with a test conversion.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    13

    Re: CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    Are you able to complete a successful rip in Windows safe mode?
    Have not tried Safe Mode, but I downloaded the 16.5 dmg trial for my Mac and it's the same issue with a different CD/DVD burner.
    The 16.6 was working on my Windows box before, last night 6/22/2019) is when it stopped working.
    Also when cancelling the rip the application hangs and I have to use Task Manager (Windows) or Force Quit (Mac) to close the CD Ripper application.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    13

    Re: CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Has it ever worked? if so what changed recently?

    It is likely something blocks the CoreConverter.exe from running this handles conversions even with a test conversion.
    Hi Spoon,
    Thanks for jumping in.
    It worked prior to last night (6/22/2019)
    I also installed it on a different Windows 10 box with a different CD/DVD burner.
    Just now I downloaded the 16.5 dmg Trial for Mac, and have the same issue with a different CD/DVD burner attached to my MBP.
    Never experienced this before, have been using dBpoweramp since 13.x version without any issues.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    13

    Re: CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Has it ever worked? if so what changed recently?

    It is likely something blocks the CoreConverter.exe from running this handles conversions even with a test conversion.
    Attached the Security setting for CoreConverter.exe
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    13

    Re: CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Has it ever worked? if so what changed recently?

    It is likely something blocks the CoreConverter.exe from running this handles conversions even with a test conversion.
    I opened the dBpoweramp Music Converter.exe and was able to manually do the conversion to Flac, beats me why it is not working within the CD Ripper application.
    I will use the batch conversion option for now until I can figure out why the conversion is not working within the CD Ripper on Windows or Mac
    Very strange issue.

  8. #8
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,553

    Re: CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

    In CD Ripper, is Path a local drive or a network location?

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    13

    Re: CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    In CD Ripper, is Path a local drive or a network location?
    The path is local, it is not a network share
    C:\Program Files\dBpoweramp\CDGrab.exe

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    13

    Re: CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

    Quote Originally Posted by AMBRipper View Post
    I opened the dBpoweramp Music Converter.exe and was able to manually do the conversion to Flac, beats me why it is not working within the CD Ripper application.
    I will use the batch conversion option for now until I can figure out why the conversion is not working within the CD Ripper on Windows or Mac
    Very strange issue.
    Using the Batch Converter didn't work either, I can only do 1 track at a time, which is not identifying the song by name, only displaying Track01.flac etc.
    Not sure what else to do, maybe wait on the next version of dBpoweramp.
    No changes were made on the original Windows box, fresh install on a different Windows PC, tried it on a Mac computer also, no joy

  11. #11
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,553

    Re: CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

    Quote Originally Posted by AMBRipper View Post
    The path is local, it is not a network share
    C:\Program Files\dBpoweramp\CDGrab.exe
    That is not what I was referring to. Path is a setting in CD Ripper:

  12. #12
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,553

    Re: CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

    Quote Originally Posted by AMBRipper View Post
    Not sure what else to do, maybe wait on the next version of dBpoweramp.
    Why not try ripping in safe mode? The result will give us more information to work with?

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    13

    Thumbs up Re: CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    That is not what I was referring to. Path is a setting in CD Ripper:
    I am sorry, I misunderstood
    Yes the path is local to the computer. (See attachment)
    However, it looks like the issue is with DSP settings, the Encoding does not like the Encoding options that I selected, which is what I have been using for years.
    I removed all the DSP options and the Encoding is now working.
    Really weird that it is not able to encode and convert with the settings I have used before.
    I will let it work as is, because I need to get the rips working on my music server.
    Thanks for all the members input.
    Cheers!!!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    13

    Re: CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    That is not what I was referring to. Path is a setting in CD Ripper:
    Sorry, I misunderstood your question.
    Yes, the path is local on the computer. (see attachment)
    However I was able to complete the rip.
    I had to remove all the DSP options that I had used previously with successful rips.
    After removing all the DSP options, the rip completed successfully, I will experiment with adding the DSP options one by one to see which one is blocking the CPU Encoding.
    Many thanks to all the Forum members for their input.
    Bless!!
    Cheers!!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    13

    Re: CPU Encoding Stuck at 0% (Version 16.6)

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    That is not what I was referring to. Path is a setting in CD Ripper:
    Sorry, I misunderstood your question.
    Yes, the path is local on the computer.
    However I was able to complete the rip.
    I had to remove all the DSP options that I had used previously with successful rips.
    After removing all the DSP options, the rip completed successfully, I will experiment with adding the DSP options one by one to see which one is blocking the CPU Encoding.
    Many thanks to all the Forum members for their input.
    Bless!!
    Cheers!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •