title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Thread: FLAC to ALAC - 16 bit 44.1 khz to 16 bit 48khz Conversion - How Bad Did I Screw Up?

FLAC to ALAC - 16 bit 44.1 khz to 16 bit 48khz Conversion - How Bad Did I Screw Up?

All,

I am new to dBpoweramp but plan to start using the music converter and perfecttunes software soon for my music needs (recently been using mediahuman audio converter which I liked too).

Here is my issue were I could use some guidance. In the beginning, when I was newer to the concept of burning cd's and digital copies and also converting copies I admit to being a little naive and not as experienced. For my CD's I burned to my iTunes library as straight ALAC 16 bit 44.1khz, and will hold up to the accuraterip verification process (as I have tested a few within perfecttunes). So, all good there,no issues.

However, in any FLAC files I may have had at 16 bit and 44.1khz I converted those to ALAC 16 bit and 48khz. Can't remember why exactly, maybe something I read about the extra "headroom" being good? Not sure, but I did this for a lot of musical pieces thru the last couple of years. I realize now, that can cause rounding issues? And potential poorer musical quality (in essence upconverting)? (Obviously as I found too it won't pass an accuraterip as it isn't the same lossless quality as a CD).

So, my question is this, how bad of a "poorer sounding element(s)" have I potentially introduced? Is it worth going back and re-converting those files (which will be a fairly large undertaking) to get a more "accurate native source based one-to-one conversion 16bit, 44.1khz"? Or am I getting way too concerned about this? Any advice would be great. Especially if some think it good to re-convert and how to efficiently do that using dBpoweramp music converter.

Yes, plan to stay with iTunes for the fore-sable future.

Thanks, I fear my inexperience has gotten me into some trouble.