title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How do I get conductor's name to show in Tags

  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    13

    How do I get conductor's name to show in Tags

    I am ripping a classical CD
    Composer; Richard Strauus -
    Name of compostion: Also Sprach Zarathustra
    Orchestra: -Berliner Harmonicker
    Conductor: Herbert Von Karajan
    Cd Company: Deutshe Gramaphon

    Currently my naming convention is set as: [IFVALUE]album artist,[album artist],[IFCOMP]Various Artists[][IF!COMP][artist][][]\[album]\[track] [artist] - [title]


    following details show up on the screen:
    Genre: Classical
    Year 2006
    Disc 2/2
    Album Artist: Richard Strauss
    Album : Also Sprach Zarathustra
    Artist: Richard Strauss
    Composer: Richard Strauss
    In the details, it shows the Title of each song, length, Artist's name (i.e. Richard Strauss) and Estimated Size.

    The Conductor's name is omitted,
    So is the name of the Orchestra
    How can I get these two to display?

    Thanks

    Arun

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,468

    Re: How do I get conductor's name to show in Tags

    >following details show up on the screen:

    Which screen? when browsing with Windows Explorer?

    Naming has no bearing on showing a tag element by a player or Windows Explorer.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    13

    Re: How do I get conductor's name to show in Tags

    Thank you. This is my first attempt at ripping Cds. so have many basic questions.I was on the CDRipper page (where I rip the CD). I thought that this is the only detail that is captured, but I see that if I click on Tags, I can see that conductor appears there. But I do need some help because this is a little confusing.I am now ripping a CD "Rossini Overtures". Conductor is Friez Reiner, Chicago Orchestra. Composer is Rossini. There are 8 'songs" under the heading "Overtures".

    The CDRipper Screen shows:

    Artist: Rossin
    Album Artist: Rossini
    Composer: Rossini

    Do you all leave these as they are, or do some modification to how these fields are populated in order to be useful. If you do, will you please share your method with me?

    My other question is, once I save all these Cds to my disk, is there a software (for PC) that will show me all the music I stored in the disk in a tabular form, which I can sort by any column (eg; artist or composer or conductor or the name of the song) and play what I want?Any recommendations? I use PC, Not Mac. I am saving in FLAC format.

    Thank you.

    AR

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,245

    Re: How do I get conductor's name to show in Tags

    classical music metadata (tag info) is often quite a mess from the online databases. Best bet is to modify these tag entries by manually editing the tag info before ripping. You can edit tags after ripping too if you see something later you want to change.

    foobar2000 for the PC software for organizing and playing your music.
    https://www.foobar2000.org/download

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,468

    Re: How do I get conductor's name to show in Tags

    I do not rip many classical CDs so my advice is perhaps not the best.

    You might find you can customize foobar2000 to display how you want, it is a player for Windows and the most customizable of all players.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    32

    Re: How do I get conductor's name to show in Tags

    You can also use Qoobar (similar to MP3Tag) that's optimized for Classical files:

    http://qoobar.sourceforge.net/en/index.htm

  7. #7

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    13

    Re: How do I get conductor's name to show in Tags

    Is there a way to set up one naming convention for Classical and another for all other genres in dbPowerAmp?

  8. #8
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,245

    Re: How do I get conductor's name to show in Tags

    Quote Originally Posted by Ar3101 View Post
    Is there a way to set up one naming convention for Classical and another for all other genres in dbPowerAmp?
    Yes, lower left hand side of CD ripper screen. Note the "Profile" row. Setup naming convention, etc. and save that PROFILE with a name (Classical). And then setup another name string, etc. and save that PROFILE name with something else (GENERIC). Then when you go into CD Ripper, simply choose the PROFILE you want to use.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    13

    Re: How do I get conductor's name to show in Tags

    Quote Originally Posted by garym View Post
    Yes, lower left hand side of CD ripper screen. Note the "Profile" row. Setup naming convention, etc. and save that PROFILE with a name (Classical). And then setup another name string, etc. and save that PROFILE name with something else (GENERIC). Then when you go into CD Ripper, simply choose the PROFILE you want to use.


    garym: Thank you

    Arun

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •