title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About
 
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Codec Tags

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    4

    Post Codec Tags

    Hi sir,
    Im converting some songs from mp3 to m4a using dbpoweramp.
    After finishing converting I see that the codec tags have additional text after MPEG-4 AAC.
    If you can help me to remove that information after the codec itself I would be very pleased. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    37,660

    Re: Codec Tags

    Where is this value shown? what is the extra text?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    4

    Re: Codec Tags

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Where is this value shown? what is the extra text?
    Thanks for the reply sir,
    The full text string is MPEG-4 AAC (fdkaac 0.6.3, libfdk-aac 3.4.22, VBR mode 5)
    For reference I am using two softwares at this time.
    1.dbpoweramp for converting and changing id-tags and the other one is mp3tag.
    When editing in dbpoweramp it shows a value at the bottom of the tags which is Encoding Tool (the string defined above except MPEG-4 AAC) Screenshot (1).jpg whereas in mp3tag, it shows the full string defined above Screenshot (2).jpg
    Please guide me to remove that Encoding tool tag in dbpoweramp
    Or is there any softwares that allow editing of codec tags.
    One more thing is that I have some songs that I have purchased from iTunes and they do not have these kind of extra tags, this only happens when I am converting mp3 files to m4a-aac format using dbpoweramp-codec-m4a FDK (AAC) Encoder from dbpoweramp.
    Thanks again for your time sir.
    Last edited by Mujtaba; 12-07-2018 at 01:05 AM.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    37,660

    Re: Codec Tags

    It is only possible to remove these tags after the files have been converted, we do not write that tag, the FDK aac encoder does. To remove them install the [ID Tag Update] utility codec from here:

    https://www.dbpoweramp.com/codec-central-utility.htm

    Use batch converter to select your root folder and set the encoder to '[ID Tag Update]' then on the settings page set to delete the Encoding Tool tag.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    4

    Re: Codec Tags

    Does not work. There is no such option encoder tool in it.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    37,660

    Re: Codec Tags

    You can manually type any value into the delete single box, it is:

    encoding tool

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    4

    Re: Codec Tags

    It seem that the encoding library is embedded into the file and not a editable tag.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •