title
Products            Purchase            Codec Central            Forum & Support            Professional            About
  
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    9

    Question Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

    I've noticed that any track name that has a slash in it causes weird things to happen.

    For example, I'm looking at Close Encounters by John Williams.

    The "Artist" for every track is John Williams.

    However, on a track called "TV Reveals / Across Country", the "Artist" is set to "TV Reveals", and the Title is set to "Across Country".

    See this screenshot:
    Screenshot 2018-08-18 18.04.30.png

    Any idea what's up?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,377

    Re: Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

    The screenshot is taken from which application?

    Please can you confirm the version of dBpoweramp you are using and platform/OS it is installed on?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    9

    Re: Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

    Screenshot is from dBpoweramp Music Converter, Release 16.3 (1), macOS 10.13.

    And I can reproduce this consistently with any track name that contains slashes.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,377

    Re: Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

    Quote Originally Posted by cabel View Post
    Screenshot is from dBpoweramp Music Converter, Release 16.3 (1), macOS 10.13.
    Sorry, I am not familiar with such a view in dBpoweramp Music Converter.

    Exactly which dBpoweramp Music Converter window do you have open when taking the screenshot?

    Quote Originally Posted by cabel View Post
    I can reproduce this consistently with any track name that contains slashes
    I don't deny this.
    Last edited by mville; 08-18-2018 at 08:54 PM.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    9

    Re: Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

    Sorry, I am not familiar with such a view in dBpoweramp Music Converter.
    Heh! I truncated my screenshot so it was just the relevant bit. I thought I was being helpful!

    Here's the entire window: Screenshot 2018-08-18 19.22.22.jpg

    You can see the "TV Reveals" mix up on Track 10.

    Thanks for looking into this!

    -Cabel

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,377

    Re: Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

    Are you reviewing the metadata from the 4 online data providers? If so, which provider do you select.

    What do you have set in the following CD Ripper option:
    Menu >> Meta Data & ID Tag Options >> GD3: Remove 'Artist /' from Titles?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    9

    Re: Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    Are you reviewing the metadata from the 4 online data providers? If so, which provider do you select.
    I have all the providers checked: Screenshot 2018-08-18 21.10.19.png

    However, when I "Clear Track Metadata" then "Retrieve Metadata From" each provider, the one that returns the results is freedb

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    What do you have set in the following CD Ripper option:
    Menu >> Meta Data & ID Tag Options >> GD3: Remove 'Artist /' from Titles?
    That option is checked.

    However, unchecking that option, clearing the metadata, and retrieving the metadata again, did not fix the problem.

    Let me know what else I can try!

  8. #8
    Da Man
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    37,319

    Re: Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

    How do you know that freedb has the correct metadata for this disc? it could be entered only as the first value.

  9. #9
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,377

    Re: Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

    Quote Originally Posted by cabel View Post
    I have all the providers checked: Screenshot 2018-08-18 21.10.19.png

    However, when I "Clear Track Metadata" then "Retrieve Metadata From" each provider, the one that returns the results is freedb
    You didn't answer my question Are you reviewing the metadata? i.e. by clicking the Review Metadata from Individual Providers button. You may be able to select the correct tag data.

    It is likely the data you are seeing, is what is present in the database(s). If this is the case, you are able to edit tags, prior to ripping.
    Last edited by mville; 08-19-2018 at 06:27 AM.

  10. #10
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    277

    Re: Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

    I'm pretty sure your problem is freedb. If you look on their website at their database, you'll see they use a slash as the delimiter between fields. so that when recalling data with slashes in the title it will have moved the part after the slash to the next field, the artist.

    In my mind there are unfortunately many issues with freedb, like no composer data, etc. Also there are many entries where the title and artist entries are transposed.

    This issue with the slashes has existed in freedb as long as I've looked at or retrieved data from it.

    This is not a problem with dBpoweramp. it is a problem with the structure of freedb, which dBpoweramp, like a number of programs accesses as a possible source of metadata. Freedb is crowd sourced, all the data in it was entered by users like you. You can update the data stored by freedb from within dBpoweramp. However in the case of titles with slashes, you'll have to substitute some other character for the slash if you want to keep the entire title in the title field.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    9

    Re: Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    How do you know that freedb has the correct metadata for this disc? it could be entered only as the first value.
    I know because every time this happens and it happens on ANY and ALL discs that have a "slash" in the "Title" when I search the FreeDB online database for the album, the data is listed correctly.

    Let me give another example, I'm ripping "The Addams Family (Extended)".

    dBpoweramp does the bug, splitting at the slash on Track *13: Screenshot 2018-08-19 10.05.48.png

    But the FreeDB online interface shows this track correctly: Screenshot 2018-08-19 10.06.26.png

    You can verify this yourself by hitting the following URL showing their database entry: http://www.freedb.org/freedb/soundtrack/cd108c1e

    In short, this is not a FreeDB problem.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    9

    Re: Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    You didn't answer my question Are you reviewing the metadata? i.e. by clicking the Review Metadata from Individual Providers button. You may be able to select the correct tag data.

    It is likely the data you are seeing, is what is present in the database(s). If this is the case, you are able to edit tags, prior to ripping.
    Hi! Sorry, I didn't mean to avoid this question, I just didn't understand it! Where can I find the "Review Metadata from Individual Providers" button in the interface? Thanks for your help!

  13. #13
    Da Man
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    37,319

    Re: Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

    Here is the freedb specification:

    TTITLEN:There must be one of these for each track in the CD. The track
    number should be substituted for the "N", starting with 0. This field
    should contain the title of the Nth track on the CD. If the disc is a
    sampler and there are different artists for the track titles, the
    track artist and the track title (in that order) should be separated
    by a "/" with a single space on either side to separate it from the text.

    In your example there is TTITLE12=Take It Off / Family Plotz which indicates by the standard that the Artist is 'Take It Off' and the Title is 'Family Plotz'

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    9

    Re: Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

    Quote Originally Posted by schmidj View Post
    I'm pretty sure your problem is freedb.
    Ok, I dug around even more.

    And yes, you're right! But geez what a horrible design for a database!

    I got a little nerd-core and I busted out my ethernet packet sniffer to look at the exact query dBpoweramp is performing against freedb.

    1. I am testing the disc "Titanic (20th Anniversary Edition)"
    2. I clear the metadata cache
    3. And I do "Retrieve Metadata From" > "freedb".

    Here is the URL that dBpoweramp is going to get the track data!

    http://freedb.freedb.org/~cddb/cddb....MP+1.0&proto=6

    Here's the freedb data that's being sent to dBpoweramp:

    Code:
    DISCID=fc0db311
    DTITLE=James Horner / Titanic: Music From the Motion Picture - 20th Anniversar
    DTITLE=y Edition (CD1)
    DYEAR=2017
    DGENRE=Soundtrack
    TTITLE0=Logo / Main Title
    TTITLE1=2 1/2 Miles Down
    TTITLE2=To the Keldysh / Rose Revealed
    TTITLE3=Distant Memories
    TTITLE4=My Drawing / Relics & Treasures
    TTITLE5=Southampton
    TTITLE6=Leaving Port
    TTITLE7="Take Her to Sea, Mr. Murdoch"
    TTITLE8=First Sighting / Rose's Suicide Attempt
    TTITLE9=Jack Saves Rose
    TTITLE10=The Promenade / Butterfly Comb
    TTITLE11=Rose
    TTITLE12=The Portrait
    TTITLE13=Lovejoy Chases Jack and Rose
    TTITLE14=Lovemaking
    TTITLE15="Hard to Starboard" (Extended Version)
    TTITLE16=Rose Frees Jack
    Now, this all looked fine to me so I was sure this was a bug!!

    But then, extra curious, I looked up the freedb database spec and, lo and behold, like you said:

    TTITLEN: If the disc is a sampler and there are different artists for the track titles, the track artist and the track title (in that order) should be separated by a "/" with a single space on either side to separate it from the text.

    So, I suppose dBpoweramp is doing the right thing it sees a slash, so it assumes it's an artist and title, to be separated.

    So what the heck are you supposed to do for a CD that actually has a slash in a track title?!? Talk about a shortsighted spec!

    Thanks again for your help.

    (I can obviously easily fix the problems, I just really wanted to make sure this wasn't a bug! )
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #15
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,377

    Re: Track names with slashes are parsed incorrectly?

    Quote Originally Posted by cabel View Post
    Sorry, I didn't mean to avoid this question, I just didn't understand it! Where can I find the "Review Metadata from Individual Providers" button in the interface?
    It is often a good idea to read the help information, before using the software.

    Regarding the Review Metadata button, read the Quick Overview here: dBpoweramp CD Ripper

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright 2018 Illustrate. All Rights Reserved.