title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tagging - STYLES within CLASSICAL GENRE (help?)

dBpoweramp Guru

Question Tagging - STYLES within CLASSICAL GENRE (help?)

Hi folks,

I will be posting some questions here this week relating to the STYLES of classical music I have tagged since purchasing 'dBpa' last July. Hopefully I might attract some assistance from some more 'experienced' classical buffs!

Thanks a lot,

Paul

dBpoweramp Guru

Re: Tagging - STYLES within CLASSICAL GENRE (help?)

I'm no expert, but Classical music is organised into periods and I often see variations in respect to these periods.

You might want to start by reading something like this: Classical music

or this: Classical Music Periods

dBpoweramp Guru

Question Re: Tagging - STYLES within CLASSICAL GENRE (help?)

Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    I'm no expert, but Classical music is organised into periods and I often see variations in respect to these periods.

You might want to start by reading something like this: Classical music

or this: Classical Music Periods
    Thanks Mville,

I will take a look ...

Paul

EDIT: As I thought might be the case - and is the very reason for me opening a new thread - is that some of the STYLES I have created are not actually listed as being 'periods/eras', simply because they are not, strictly speaking. For instance, 'Minimalism' (eg. Steve Reich) is a term for a particular form of composition/process, but it is not a recognized as being a 'period' (I mean, we do not verbally say: "this is a piece of music from the 'Minimalist' period!").
    Last edited by monsterjazzlick; 07-29-2018 at 11:30 AM.

dBpoweramp Guru

Mville,