title
Products            Purchase            Codec Central            Forum & Support            Professional            About
  
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Problems ripping HDCD on mac: Exporter at 0%

  1. #1

    Question Problems ripping HDCD on mac: Exporter at 0%

    Hi -

    I am trying to rip an HDCD on my mac (grateful dead 30 years around the sun). I have tried a few combinations, including ALAC + HDCD DSP, with and without the 6db thing checked, and the same permutations but with flac.

    It rips the first track, then gets stuck at 0% encoding and will not proceed, and no other tracks even try to rip.

    dBpoweramp_CD_Ripper_and_Roon.jpg

    When it is in this state the cpu for dbpoweramp Music Converter hovers at around 100% cpu (I am on a four-core i7 w/16 gb ram, so only using one CPU). I have also tried reading/writing several different volumes.

    I have ripped to both ALAC and FLAC with no DSP and it works. Thinking that maybe this wasn't really HDCD I went back to one that I did several months ago, Dave's Pics 25, which ripped and encoded properly at the time. That won't rip the HDCD now either (again gets stuck on the encoding part).

    I saw some similar threads but they were all windows based. I did try the test conversion and that succeeded without the HDCD DSP

    I have version 16.3 running on High Sierra 10.13.5 (17F77).

    Any tips would be appreciated. I tried deleting the program and reinstalling, but definitely missed something because it remembered my preferences.
    Last edited by left4deadinclt; 06-24-2018 at 03:42 PM.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    636

    Re: Problems ripping HDCD on mac: Exporter at 0%

    Thanks for your bug report.

    I just tested my own HDCD sample and it appears to work fine, so this issue might be somehow specific to your configuration.

    I would very much like you to send me a snapshot of your dBpoweramp configuration - to do so, click [configure] in dBpoweramp launcher, Converter tab, click [save configuration snapshot]. Email the resulting file to peter@dbpoweramp.com for analysis.

    Now, in order to reset all dBpoweramp configuration, you can remove the ~/Library/dBpoweramp folder ( Finder: cmd+shift+G, ~/Library, remove the dBpoweramp folder ).
    You can also rename it to dBpweramp.off to get a fresh profile to verify if the bug is gone, then restore it by removing the newly created folder and restoring the old folder.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    636

    Re: Problems ripping HDCD on mac: Exporter at 0%

    Does it also get stuck when told to rip individual tracks rather than the whole CD starting from track 1?

    It would be also helpful if you could email me ( peter@dbpoweramp.com ) a lossless rip - without HDCD processing - of a short track that gets stuck ripping.

  4. #4

    Thumbs up Re: Problems ripping HDCD on mac: Exporter at 0%

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterP View Post
    Thanks for your bug report.

    I just tested my own HDCD sample and it appears to work fine, so this issue might be somehow specific to your configuration.

    I would very much like you to send me a snapshot of your dBpoweramp configuration - to do so, click [configure] in dBpoweramp launcher, Converter tab, click [save configuration snapshot]. Email the resulting file to peter@dbpoweramp.com for analysis.

    Now, in order to reset all dBpoweramp configuration, you can remove the ~/Library/dBpoweramp folder ( Finder: cmd+shift+G, ~/Library, remove the dBpoweramp folder ).
    You can also rename it to dBpweramp.off to get a fresh profile to verify if the bug is gone, then restore it by removing the newly created folder and restoring the old folder.
    Moving the ~/Library/dbPoweramp out of the way fixed it. Looking through what you were asking for I found the problem: When I converted my scratch disk from a spinny-disk stripe to an SSD stripe I renamed it, but it was still set as the temporary disk (/volumes/LBD) which didn't exist, and /Volumes only has root write:

    $ >ls -ld /Volumes
    drwxr-xr-x@ 11 root wheel 374 Jun 25 07:26 /Volumes/


    So, it was definitely a config error on my part, but there was probably an error thrown somewhere that you can bubble up. Thanks for helping me fix it!

    -jamie

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    636

    Re: Problems ripping HDCD on mac: Exporter at 0%

    Thanks for the reply. I'll make sure that dBpoweramp handles such scenarios (out of temp space, misconfigured temp location) gracefully from the next release.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright 2018 Illustrate. All Rights Reserved.