title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Advice please!

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Rossi46
    • Jun 2018

Advice please!

Hi everyone - Newbie here so apologies in advance if asking a silly question!
    I should start off by saying this is a new process for me (ripping cd's) and I have no experience with storage, SD cards and music files etc..

I decided to use dbpoweramp to rip my cd's to FLAC. I understood this to be a high quality 'lossless' format that would ensure music could be saved onto an SD card with no loss in sound reproduction. I wanted to use an SD card in the head unit of my car. Having just tried to play the card in my h/u, there is a 'no music' message coming up. I have another card someone else 'formatted' (??) in WAV and it plays fine. So, the upshot is that it looks like I need to re-save everything from FLAC to WAV.

Can anyone please tell me if there is a quick and easy way of doing this, ensuring it is a method where there is no loss in quality?

Many thanks
  • Spoon
    Administrator
    • Apr 2002

Re: Advice please!

Use Batch Converter, select all the files (root folder) >> Convert and choose Wave as the encoding method, click Convert To.
    Spoon
    www.dbpoweramp.com

Comment

• Rossi46
      • Jun 2018

OK, I'll take a look.
      This option will retain an uncompressed version of my FLAC files with zero loss in quality?

Many thanks

Comment

• Rossi46
        • Jun 2018

..I just started to run things and after the first couple of albums I got a 'Core Convertor' window pop up. It reads 'error reading db command file'

Any ideas what this means / what I need to do please ?

Comment

• Spoon
          Administrator
          • Apr 2002

Your flac files are untouched, no quality is lost.

The error message, you likely have security software which is sandboxing each program, so our converter cannot function correctly.
          Spoon