title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About
 
  
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: How to rip a MQA CD to enjoy Hi-res music

  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    5

    Question How to rip a MQA CD to enjoy Hi-res music

    Hi, I am using a Mac version of Dbpoweramo CD Ripper, how can I rip a MQA CD to enjoy the Hi-res music at 24/192. What DSP setting and/or any other setting I should adopt ?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Da Man
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    37,430

    Re: How to rip a MQA CD to enjoy Hi-res music

    Nothing can rip MQA

  3. #3
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    221

    Re: How to rip a MQA CD to enjoy Hi-res music

    Do you have a Ottava CD, from their release in Japan?
    The idea is they play as regular Redbook CDs with 16/44.1 tracks, but with MQA encoding, so when playback through a MQA enabled DAC, the additional HiRes information is extracted. But it only at the DAC that this decoding will occur, until then the CD is read as a Redbook CD.
    So I wonder if the tracks can be ripped, whether the FLAC files extract still contain the MQA encoding, and therefore can be decoded.
    i.e. placed on a NAS, and read by Roon Core, which has the ability to make the first unfold through software decoding.
    Would need to experiment.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    5

    Re: How to rip a MQA CD to enjoy Hi-res music

    Quote Originally Posted by simes_pep View Post
    Do you have a Ottava CD, from their release in Japan?
    The idea is they play as regular Redbook CDs with 16/44.1 tracks, but with MQA encoding, so when playback through a MQA enabled DAC, the additional HiRes information is extracted. But it only at the DAC that this decoding will occur, until then the CD is read as a Redbook CD.
    So I wonder if the tracks can be ripped, whether the FLAC files extract still contain the MQA encoding, and therefore can be decoded.
    i.e. placed on a NAS, and read by Roon Core, which has the ability to make the first unfold through software decoding.
    Would need to experiment.
    I just brought the Classic Sampler, so I just copy all the MQA files from the MQA CD to my NAS/Macbook, then see if Roon can decode the MQA files ? Will give it a try later..thanks

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Fullerton, CA
    Posts
    4

    Re: How to rip a MQA CD to enjoy Hi-res music

    dBpoweramp can rip MQA encoded CDs. Just ripped Supertramp - Breakfast In America (UHQCD) that has MQA 352.8kHz/24bit resolution encoded. The CD streamed to my PS Audio DirectStream DAC (via PerfectWave Network Bridge II) and it perfectly "unfolded" the MQA resolution. Awesome program as usual!

    http://www.cdjapan.co.jp/product/UICY-40204

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    5

    Re: How to rip a MQA CD to enjoy Hi-res music

    Quote Originally Posted by nsxelent View Post
    dBpoweramp can rip MQA encoded CDs. Just ripped Supertramp - Breakfast In America (UHQCD) that has MQA 352.8kHz/24bit resolution encoded. The CD streamed to my PS Audio DirectStream DAC (via PerfectWave Network Bridge II) and it perfectly "unfolded" the MQA resolution. Awesome program as usual!

    http://www.cdjapan.co.jp/product/UICY-40204
    Hi, I did the same with another MQA-UHQCD from CD Japan, 10 out of the 12 titles in the CD rip OK, but only 2 titles still play at 16/44. Do you need to adjust any DSP setting in dBpoweramp ? Thanks for the advice in advance.

  7. #7

    Re: How to rip a MQA CD to enjoy Hi-res music

    Quote Originally Posted by nsxelent View Post
    dBpoweramp can rip MQA encoded CDs. Just ripped Supertramp - Breakfast In America (UHQCD) that has MQA 352.8kHz/24bit resolution encoded. The CD streamed to my PS Audio DirectStream DAC (via PerfectWave Network Bridge II) and it perfectly "unfolded" the MQA resolution. Awesome program as usual!

    http://www.cdjapan.co.jp/product/UICY-40204
    Can u tell me which version of dbpoweramp and pc os your were using to rip the cd?
    What parameters does it need to change?
    I encounter difficulties in ripping this kind of cd to get MQA encoded files.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    5

    Re: How to rip a MQA CD to enjoy Hi-res music

    Quote Originally Posted by Leungah View Post
    Hi, I did the same with another MQA-UHQCD from CD Japan, 10 out of the 12 titles in the CD rip OK, but only 2 titles still play at 16/44. Do you need to adjust any DSP setting in dBpoweramp ? Thanks for the advice in advance.
    I also encounter a very strange issue, if I rip non classical MQA UHQCD all titles rip correctly as MQA and I can play as MQA. If I rip a classical MQA UHQCD the first title always play as 16/44 while other titles can play at MQA ? This had happened now to at least 5 - 6 such MQA UHQCD ? Any idea how to resolve this ?

  9. #9

    Re: How to rip a MQA CD to enjoy Hi-res music

    Quote Originally Posted by Leungah View Post
    I also encounter a very strange issue, if I rip non classical MQA UHQCD all titles rip correctly as MQA and I can play as MQA. If I rip a classical MQA UHQCD the first title always play as 16/44 while other titles can play at MQA ? This had happened now to at least 5 - 6 such MQA UHQCD ? Any idea how to resolve this ?
    May i know what version of dbpoweramp u used to rip ur mqa cd?
    I can't even get 1 file with mqa encoded.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    5

    Re: How to rip a MQA CD to enjoy Hi-res music

    Quote Originally Posted by Shrimprice View Post
    May i know what version of dbpoweramp u used to rip ur mqa cd?
    I can't even get 1 file with mqa encoded.
    Hi, Release 16.3. I can play MQA using Roon but if I use Bluesound controller, it can only play at 16/44. Since I use Roon for most of the time, so I did not investigate further with Bluesound.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    1

    Re: How to rip a MQA CD to enjoy Hi-res music

    Same issue here....
    After ripping with dbpoweramp, only few tracks are MQA decoded by software ROON. Moreover, none of the same tracks are decoded by my sony nw-a45 portable player (which is mqa compatible).
    Big disappointment, which shows me that MQA is in a way a type of DRM system for HiRes audio.....
    Next time I will buy the HiRes files or SACD instead.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •