title
Products            Purchase            Codec Central            Forum & Support            Professional            About
  
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Ripper will not see cd drive

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    6

    Ripper will not see cd drive

    I have used DB for years with no issues. I have not used it in about a year, however, because Tidal has almost everything I want. Today, i updated DB to newest version because i had some new ads not on Tidal that I needed to rip. . Set cd drive on my Mac (OS X El Capitan) to open DB whenever a cd is inserted

    Inserted a cd. Nothing. Opened DB manually to ripper. Screen says no cd. I have played with settings and am told the sw is not seeing a cd drive.

    No idea what to do? Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,303

    Re: Ripper will not see cd drive

    Do you have other software e.g. iTunes, that sees and plays the CD?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: Ripper will not see cd drive

    I have ituens although I do not use it. Is there something I need to disable?

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,940

    Re: Ripper will not see cd drive

    Quote Originally Posted by Shredder View Post
    I have ituens although I do not use it. Is there something I need to disable?
    Hes suggesting you try to read a cd in iTunes as a test to confirm another program can see the drive.

    also in cd ripper window, lower left side, be sure you’ve selected the correct drive in dropdown menu.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: Ripper will not see cd drive

    On lower left side, cd drive drop down, there is no choice for a drive, it just says "no disc inserted"

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,940

    Re: Ripper will not see cd drive

    I assume there is only one drive on your machine.

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,303

    Re: Ripper will not see cd drive

    Quote Originally Posted by Shredder View Post
    I have ituens although I do not use it. Is there something I need to disable?
    You need to confirm that the drive is working ok, within the Mac OS, before attempting to use in CD Ripper.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: Ripper will not see cd drive

    So, I changed cd drive setting to have iTunes open when cd is inserted. Inserted cd, did not open. Opened iTunes manually, did not see cd.

    As you suspected, sounds like issue with drive. Any ideas on that front?

    Thanks.

  9. #9
    Da Man
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    37,197

    Re: Ripper will not see cd drive

    Try replacing it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright © 2018 Illustrate. All Rights Reserved.