title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: media problems ....

  1. #1
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Africa
    Posts
    139

    media problems ....

    hi,
    I have ben using dBpower for a long time and this is he 1st time I have come across some CDs where they look absolutely FLAWLESS to the naked eye.... once I start ripping them ... the 1st track is ERROR ... there is no scratch on the begging of the CD neither on the full CD .... I settle for ripping that track as a DANAGED track, hence using that settings.

    Yes, the CDs were lying in the closet for many years .... is there a possibility of the media deteriorating or rather deteriorated ???

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,824

    Re: media problems ....

    Quote Originally Posted by Hitarth View Post
    I have ben using dBpower for a long time and this is he 1st time I have come across some CDs where they look absolutely FLAWLESS to the naked eye.... once I start ripping them ... the 1st track is ERROR ...
    CDs can contain manufacturing defects as well as scratches.

    Quote Originally Posted by Hitarth View Post
    the 1st track is ERROR ...
    What is the error?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hitarth View Post
    the CDs were lying in the closet for many years .... is there a possibility of the media deteriorating or rather deteriorated ???
    Yes, it's possible.

  3. #3
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Africa
    Posts
    139

    Re: media problems ....

    [QUOTE=mville;181201]CDs can contain manufacturing defects as well as scratches.

    apparently these CDs were regularly used once upon a time ...
    Last edited by Hitarth; 01-16-2018 at 11:35 AM.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Africa
    Posts
    139

    Re: media problems ....

    [QUOTE=mville;181201]CDs can contain manufacturing defects as well as scratches.

    the CDs are super clean ... scratchless ...

  5. #5
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Africa
    Posts
    139

    Re: media problems ....

    What is the error? [/QUOTE]

    the track is an ERROR in red & there is no file in the folder ..

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,824

    Re: media problems ....

    Quote Originally Posted by Hitarth View Post
    apparently these CDs were regularly used once upon a time ...
    There is a difference between ripping a CD in CD Ripper and playing a CD in a CD player.

    CD Ripper tries to extract the digital audio data exactly, to obtain a bit perfect copy of the data. It will keep trying until either it does or stops depending on the CD Ripper Secure Settings and then reports the outcome, including any errors found.

    A CD player is designed to read a CD, and when it gets errors it then interpolates the missing digital audio data, which hopefully on playback, you will not hear.

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,824

    Re: media problems ....

    Quote Originally Posted by Hitarth View Post
    the track is an ERROR in red & there is no file in the folder ..
    This is another problem, so you'll have to provide more info and/or post the secure extraction log.

  8. #8
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,824

    Re: media problems ....

    Quote Originally Posted by Hitarth View Post
    the CDs are super clean ... scratchless ...
    As I said, CDs can contain manufacturing defects as well as scratches.

    Manufacturing errors are often not visible to the naked eye.

  9. #9
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Africa
    Posts
    139

    Re: media problems ....

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    As I said, CDs can contain manufacturing defects as well as scratches.

    Manufacturing errors are often not visible to the naked eye.
    yes, you are right ... many thanks

  10. #10
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Africa
    Posts
    139

    Re: media problems ....

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    This is another problem, so you'll have to provide more info and/or post the secure extraction log.
    thanks mville, I had a small setting problem, it seems to be doing fine now

    many thanka

  11. #11
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Africa
    Posts
    139

    Re: media problems ....

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    There is a difference between ripping a CD in CD Ripper and playing a CD in a CD player.

    CD Ripper tries to extract the digital audio data exactly, to obtain a bit perfect copy of the data. It will keep trying until either it does or stops depending on the CD Ripper Secure Settings and then reports the outcome, including any errors found.

    A CD player is designed to read a CD, and when it gets errors it then interpolates the missing digital audio data, which hopefully on playback, you will not hear.
    yes, I am aware of this ....
    many thanks

  12. #12
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Africa
    Posts
    139

    Re: media problems ....

    Quote Originally Posted by Hitarth View Post
    yes, I am aware of this ....
    many thanks
    hi,
    i have a problem where dbpower cannot read a CD, it shows as a blank CD, where as the same CD with he same drive will rip with Easy Audio Copy or EAC or even CUEripper ...

    any input is welcome

  13. #13
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,483

    Re: media problems ....

    Did you try to click the rescan button?


    Dat Ei

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,714

    Re: media problems ....

    Is it just one CD or all? check the ripping mode is not set to 'defective by design'

  15. #15
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Africa
    Posts
    139

    Re: media problems ....

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Is it just one CD or all? check the ripping mode is not set to 'defective by design'
    it could happen to any CD.
    no, the ripping mode is not set to "defective by design"
    strangely it works on other ripper, though on the same drive. i just ried on fre:ac too .. it worked fine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •