title
Products            Purchase            Codec Central            Forum & Support            Professional            About
  
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Track length showing incorrectly on mp3 rips - VBR issue?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    7

    Question Track length showing incorrectly on mp3 rips - VBR issue?

    Hi

    I have just ripped all CD's I have collected over the last 25 years.

    I have just noticed a problem with the rips...

    Track lengths are showing almost random figures in all players I have tried - Winamp, VLC, Windows own. They play for the correct length of time though.

    After a bit of research I found a utility called "mp3val" to validate files. It comes back saying "VBR detected - no VBR header found", but the software cannot rectify that issue. I also read something about a TLEN value possibly being incorrect, but that means even less to me.

    Is there something I can do with dBpoweramp that will fix the files?

  2. #2
    Da Man
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    36,880

    Re: Track length showing incorrectly on mp3 rips - VBR issue?

    If you rip with Lame, it writes it's own VBR headers, as a test hold the mouse over a track and dBpoweramp will show the length, is it the correct value?

    TLEN is from the ID Tags, no one uses that for track length.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    7

    Re: Track length showing incorrectly on mp3 rips - VBR issue?

    If I hovver the cursor over a file in explorer the length it shows is wrong, sometimes close, sometimes massively out.

  4. #4
    Da Man
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    36,880

    Re: Track length showing incorrectly on mp3 rips - VBR issue?

    You used dBpoweramp to rip the CDs?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    7

    Re: Track length showing incorrectly on mp3 rips - VBR issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    You used dBpoweramp to rip the CDs?
    I did indeed. v16.2. I changed a few settings from default, mainly to up quality and also had to set iso compatibility mode.

    Here is a good example, the track is actually 7m2s...

    mp3Capture.PNG

  6. #6
    Da Man
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    36,880

    Re: Track length showing incorrectly on mp3 rips - VBR issue?

    >and also had to set iso compatibility mode.

    and this mode forces no VBR header. That is the issue.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    7

    Re: Track length showing incorrectly on mp3 rips - VBR issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    >and also had to set iso compatibility mode.

    and this mode forces no VBR header. That is the issue.


    Is that all compatibility mode does?

    Is there a way to fix the files so they have the correct header without re-ripping/encoding?

    It is a fairly fundamental thing to "break" without warning when you select the combination of options. I presume selecting CBR with compatibility mode would work fine?

  8. #8
    Da Man
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    36,880

    Re: Track length showing incorrectly on mp3 rips - VBR issue?

    Compatibility mode is a very simple form of mp3, it could be there are other changes, or constraints on the mp3 bit buffers, I have not looked into it. You would have to re-rip to add the header.

    CBR does work fine, in compatibility mode, however you should never select this mode unless you had a 15 year old player which would not play modern mp3 files.

    VBR headers are not part of the official mp3 specification, so nothing is broken by not having the header.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    7

    Re: Track length showing incorrectly on mp3 rips - VBR issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Compatibility mode is a very simple form of mp3, it could be there are other changes, or constraints on the mp3 bit buffers, I have not looked into it. You would have to re-rip to add the header.

    CBR does work fine, in compatibility mode, however you should never select this mode unless you had a 15 year old player which would not play modern mp3 files.

    VBR headers are not part of the official mp3 specification, so nothing is broken by not having the header.
    Thanks, I was worried you would say re-rip. I did a bit of digging and found an update to a tool called VBRfix (Moonbase update!), it seems to at least fix the issue of track length in Windows/Winamp etc, but I have not tested it in my car CD-MP3 player which was the reason I ticked compatibility in the first place... It plays VBR fine, but seemed to randomly glitch playing at high bitrate without the box ticked.

    I found the utility here if anyone else needs it: https://hydrogenaud.io/index.php/topic,67076.0.html

    I ran mp3val after and it seems happy with the output, so fingers crossed that just saved me re-ripping!

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    7

    Re: Track length showing incorrectly on mp3 rips - VBR issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Compatibility mode is a very simple form of mp3, it could be there are other changes, or constraints on the mp3 bit buffers, I have not looked into it. You would have to re-rip to add the header.

    CBR does work fine, in compatibility mode, however you should never select this mode unless you had a 15 year old player which would not play modern mp3 files.

    VBR headers are not part of the official mp3 specification, so nothing is broken by not having the header.
    Thanks, I was worried you would say re-rip. I did a bit of digging and found an update to a tool called VBRfix (Moonbase update!), it seems to at least fix the issue of track length in Windows/Winamp etc, but I have not tested it in my car CD-MP3 player which was the reason I ticked compatibility in the first place... It plays VBR fine, but seemed to randomly glitch playing at high bitrate without the box ticked.

    I found the utility here if anyone else needs it: https://hydrogenaud.io/index.php/topic,67076.0.html

    I ran mp3val after and it seems happy with the output, so fingers crossed that just saved me re-ripping!

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    7

    Re: Track length showing incorrectly on mp3 rips - VBR issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by empee3p View Post
    but I have not tested it in my car CD-MP3 player
    Just to update: Tested a few albums, VBRfix took about a second per track, and all seems okay in the car and PC players! Phew!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright 2018 Illustrate. All Rights Reserved.