title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Custom ID-Tag in Asset for Linux

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Posts
    14

    Custom ID-Tag in Asset for Linux

    Hi,
    99% of my music is classical. For proper organization Id like to sort by opus numbers as well. In dBpoweramp Ive included this custom tag already when ripping. How to tell asset in Linux (CentOS 7.3) to index for this custom field?

    Another question is related to custom tags in PerfectTUNES (PT) (Im running this on a windows 10 x64 machine). How to install custom tags in PT? Maybe Id better open a new thread in PerfectTunes for this?
    Heres what I tried so far: ...\AppData\Roaming\PerfectTunes:
    1) file "DefaultTagEdit.txt": adding new line "Opus" at the end
    2) file "IDTagDatabaseFields.txt": adding new line "Opus,0,NVARCHAR(30)" at the end

    Best regards

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,635

    Re: Custom ID-Tag in Asset for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by Anna_Blume View Post
    99% of my music is classical. For proper organization Id like to sort by opus numbers as well. In dBpoweramp Ive included this custom tag already when ripping. How to tell asset in Linux (CentOS 7.3) to index for this custom field?
    First of all, as your library is mostly classical, I suggest you adopt the new classical tags instead of your custom tag opus, which Illustrate has started to support.

    These new classical tags are:
    Work
    Movement Count
    Movement Number
    Movement Name

    Then, we can look at using these tags in Asset, PerfectTUNES etc.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Posts
    14

    Re: Custom ID-Tag in Asset for Linux

    Hi mville, thanks for instant reply. "Work" means the same as "Opus", so itd be fine with me. Im using dbpoweramp version 15, where to find / install the new tags? Included in version 16? Before having the discussion leading in the wrong direction: I have already ripped approx. 10.000 tracks including field "Opus". Changing a field will be possible, but seems to be some workload.
    Last edited by Anna_Blume; 12-07-2017 at 07:55 AM.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,635

    Re: Custom ID-Tag in Asset for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by Anna_Blume View Post
    "Work" means the same as "Opus", so itd be fine with me.
    Yes, correct.


    Quote Originally Posted by Anna_Blume View Post
    Im using dbpoweramp version 15, where to find / install the new tags? Included in version 16?
    Do you have dBpoweramp Music Converter (and PerfectTUNES) installed on a Windows or Apple PC?

    The new classical tags are supported in the latest R16.3 and are accessible in CD Ripper:




    Quote Originally Posted by Anna_Blume View Post
    I have already ripped approx. 10.000 tracks including filed "Opus". Changing a field will be possible, but seems to be some workload.
    You can use the ID Tag Update utility codec >> Map >> Opus (mapped to) Work.

    I suggest you backup your library then try this on a single album, until you are confident using the ID Tag Update utility codec.
    Last edited by mville; 12-07-2017 at 08:23 AM. Reason: added image

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Posts
    14

    Re: Custom ID-Tag in Asset for Linux

    Yes, Music Converter and PerfectTunes both run on the same W10 machine (x64).
    Screenshot of R16.3 looks great, seems thats exactly what I was looking for 2 years ago when I started ripping my CDs to FLAC format.
    With the ID Tag update Codec utility I could map "Opus" to any ID tag I currently dont use (and will never do so, e.g. "mood"). (I know, its more convenient to have direct access to a proper named field when ripping, but this is not the question here).

    This again turns up the initial question:
    How to get an ID tag indexed that is not indexed by default? Spoon explained for Windows in a sticky note. As Im running Asset on Linux (CentOS 7.3, HP Microserver Gen8) Id like to know how to get this done in my current setup.

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,635

    Re: Custom ID-Tag in Asset for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by Anna_Blume View Post
    With the ID Tag update Codec utility I could map "Opus" to any ID tag I currently dont use (and will never do so, e.g. "mood"). (I know, its more convenient to have direct access to a proper named field when ripping, but this is not the question here).
    You can map any tag to any tag, whether it is a known tag in the Illustrate software(s) or is a user custom tag. The tag data is copied to the mapped tag.

    Why not map "Opus" to "Work"?

    Quote Originally Posted by Anna_Blume View Post
    This again turns up the initial question:
    How to get an ID tag indexed that is not indexed by default? Spoon explained for Windows in a sticky note. As Im running Asset on Linux (CentOS 7.3, HP Microserver Gen8) Id like to know how to get this done in my current setup.
    Understood. I have a custom tag working in Asset UPnP for Windows, but I am not sure how you would achieve this (or if it is even possible) in Asset UPnP for Linux.

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,635

    Re: Custom ID-Tag in Asset for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by Anna_Blume View Post
    As Im running Asset on Linux (CentOS 7.3, HP Microserver Gen8) Id like to know how to get this done in my current setup.
    FYI, this is how I got this working in Asset UPnP R6.1 for Windows, maybe this will help you:

    1. I have a custom tag called LIBRARY. This tag is populated with flac for all my flac files and mp3 for all my mp3 files.

    2. Find MediaDatabaseFieldsv5.txt
    (mine was here, C:\Users\%username%\AppData\Roaming\dBpoweramp\uMe diaLibrary)

    add the following line at the bottom of the MediaDatabaseFieldsv5.txt file and Save:
    library,0,INTEGER

    3. In Asset UPnP Configuration >> Advanced Settings >> Browse Tree
    I have added a New container called Library (tick NO Track Listing) as a Child of 'Root', then all the sub containers as Child of 'Library'. OK this, Restart Asset and click OK again, to exit Asset UPnP Configuration.

    Now, in Asset Control I get 2 folders as the root, flac and mp3.
    Last edited by mville; 12-07-2017 at 10:12 AM. Reason: added Asset version info

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •