title
Products            Purchase            Codec Central            Forum & Support            Professional            About
  
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Naming in R16.x is restricted

  1. #1
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,230

    Naming in R16.x is restricted

    In R16.x, the Naming string text box (Base Location) has a 540 character length restriction.

    Is this by design? If so, can the restriction length be increased?

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,230

    Re: Naming in R16.x is restricted

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    In R16.x, the Naming string text box (Base Location) has a 540 character length restriction.

    Is this by design? If so, can the restriction length be increased?
    I have tested further and the restriction depends on the characters used in the string, so the restriction varies, however, there is still a restriction.

  3. #3
    Da Man
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    36,992

    Re: Naming in R16.x is restricted

    It should not be 540, much longer, will mark as an issue to check.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,230

    Re: Naming in R16.x is restricted

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    It should not be 540, much longer, will mark as an issue to check.
    As I stated, it varies depending upon characters used. Try typing in 541 zeroes.

  5. #5
    Da Man
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    36,992

    Re: Naming in R16.x is restricted

    Looking into this, why would you want the Base location box to allow longer than 540 chars? The actual naming string goes into the box below 'Dynamic Naming' the base location is just there to set fixed paths.

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,230

    Re: Naming in R16.x is restricted

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Looking into this, why would you want the Base location box to allow longer than 540 chars? The actual naming string goes into the box below 'Dynamic Naming' the base location is just there to set fixed paths.
    No, on my PC the text box is named Base Location in CD Ripper R16.3 beta 5:


  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    369

    Re: Naming in R16.x is restricted

    Wouldn't the lower box be for the naming string? The checkboxes above it seem to indicate that.

  8. #8
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,230

    Re: Naming in R16.x is restricted

    Quote Originally Posted by Jailhouse View Post
    Wouldn't the lower box be for the naming string? The checkboxes above it seem to indicate that.
    No. The lower box displays the resulting path/filename based on the Naming string in the upper box (and any ticked checkbox).

  9. #9
    Da Man
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    36,992

    Re: Naming in R16.x is restricted

    Issue found R16.3 will fix.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright 2018 Illustrate. All Rights Reserved.