title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

  1. #1

    Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

    Good Day People,

    I am running dbpoweramp 16.6 and attempted to install the opus codec. It stated it installed properly but is not listed under encoders or decoders. I have attempted a reinstall with the same result. Dbpoweramp will not recognize my .opus collection for manipulation.

    Anyone out there seen this issue or can point me to a post that discusses a resolution? A search came back empty.

    As noted in the title I am working off a 64 bit Windows 10 Pro operating system.



    I do appreciate the help,
    -Wump

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,586

    Re: Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

    Have you previously had an old version of dBpoweramp installed, or installed the 32 bit version?

  3. #3

    Re: Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

    Thank you for the assistance on this Spoon,

    To the best of my knowledge no. When I built this system and installed the 64 bit OS I bought a new version of dbpoweramp(16.x). That said I did previously have a license for (14.x) and I quite possibly forgot that I installed that version initially prior to getting the (16.x)license. If you are suspicious that I may be mistaken, or have seen similar reports when that was the issue I will gladly operate on that premise and take the steps you recommend based on that premise.

    Thank you again, I really appreciate your help,
    -Wump

  4. #4

    Re: Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

    Hello Spoon and those that come after,

    I wanted to tell you were correct. When I had replied initially to you I looked in the program file folder for multiple dbpoweramp folders. But only found the folder for the current 16.6 install. After a proper cup of coffee, however, I looked in the remove program interface(settings) and there were multiple dbpoweramp programs listed. Two of which were older dates.

    In the event that others stumble across this thread, if you are having problems removing the program try Wise uninstaller (safe uninstall). It is available for free and can be put on a portable drive. It was able to remove the residual program and the registry entries. I'm not sure it was necessary but I also ran C-cleaner and restarted.

    From there reinstall the current program version, codecs, and add on programs and you might be good.

    Good luck and thanks much Spoon,
    -Wump

  5. #5

    Re: Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

    Sorry to be THAT crazy forum guy,

    This appears to best fit in under this thread.

    As noted above I was able to get dbpowearmp to recognize the opus codec.

    It will encode from lossy and lossless perfectly.

    It will not decode from .opus to any other format on a windows 10 pro 64 bit system.

    Is there any hope?

    CrazyWump

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,586

    Re: Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

    You are able to select the opus files for conversion? (ie right click on one >> Convert To)

  7. #7

    Re: Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

    Yes that correct.

    I can send you an MP4 of the entire process if you like.
    I have included 2 sets of Jpegs. 1-3 are the conversion process.
    A-B may be helpful. dbpoweramp's codec "recognizes but doesn't recognize the file" but on all media players I tested it plays fine.
    1.JPG2.jpg3.JPG
    A.JPGB.jpg

    Thank you,
    -Wump

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,586

    Re: Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

    Look in dBpoweramp Control Centre >> Audio Codecs 'List / Options'

    it should list the opus decoder there, does it?

  9. #9

    Re: Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

    You are correct it does. DecoderCodecs.JPG

    FYI when I upload an opus file (Don't fear the reaper) to and then download the converted file back in it converts it to mp3 fine. Of course the issue is that doing this will A: make all my hair turn white and B: fall out before I get 10% of my library converted. I also have no control over quality and effects doing an online conversion.

    Thank you
    -Wump
    Last edited by Spoon; 04-22-2019 at 08:52 AM.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,586

    Re: Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

    Try starting windows in safe mode, then try a conversion, does it work?

  11. #11

    Re: Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

    Sadly, no that did not work.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,586

    Re: Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

    Which security software do you have?

  13. #13

    Re: Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

    Bit Defender

    I have tried with Bit Defender enabled and disabled and there is no difference in results.

    I also tried with Bit Defender enabled using Faasoft Audio Converter program and the conversion went smoothly.

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,586

    Re: Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

    Open dBpoweramp Control Centre >> Advanced Settings

    and enable Music Converter debug. Try to do a conversion then the log file should appear in Notepad, copy and paste here please.

  15. #15

    Re: Opus Codec on 64 bit Windows 10 Pro

    Thank you for taking a look.

    (EXAMPLE 1)

    Splitting Command Line:"D:\dBpoweramp\CoreConverter.exe" -dbcmd="C:\Users\Gamer-PC\AppData\Local\Temp\dBT966.tmp"
    ->-> [dBCoreConverter::ReaddBCommandFile]
    <-<- [dBCoreConverter::ReaddBCommandFile]
    Decodes [clDecoder_Opus::Get]
    BatchID [clDecoder_Opus::Set]
    ->-> [cldBCodecHandler::LoadEncoder]
    Loading Encoder 'D:\dBpoweramp\encoder\mp3 (Lame).DLL'
    <-<- [cldBCodecHandler::LoadEncoder]
    BatchID [clEncoder::Set]
    ->-> [dBCoreConverter::StripCoreConverterCmds]
    <-<- [dBCoreConverter::StripCoreConverterCmds]
    SendRawUnCompressed [clEncoder::Get]
    Communicate [clDecoder_Opus::Get]
    Communicate [clEncoder::Get]
    NeedHQAudio [clEncoder::Get]
    Decode As [clDecoder_Opus::Set]
    ->-> [clDecoder_Opus::Open]
    Opening file 'C:\Users\Gamer-PC\Desktop\Music\Leo Moracchioli\(Donīt Fear) The Reaper (metal cover by Leo Moracchioli).opus' for read access: Opened

    (EXAMPLE 2)

    Splitting Command Line:"D:\dBpoweramp\CoreConverter.exe" -dbcmd="C:\Users\Gamer-PC\AppData\Local\Temp\dBTE969.tmp"
    ->-> [dBCoreConverter::ReaddBCommandFile]
    <-<- [dBCoreConverter::ReaddBCommandFile]
    Decodes [clDecoder_Opus::Get]
    BatchID [clDecoder_Opus::Set]
    ->-> [cldBCodecHandler::LoadEncoder]
    Loading Encoder 'D:\dBpoweramp\encoder\mp3 (Lame).DLL'
    <-<- [cldBCodecHandler::LoadEncoder]
    BatchID [clEncoder::Set]
    ->-> [dBCoreConverter::StripCoreConverterCmds]
    <-<- [dBCoreConverter::StripCoreConverterCmds]
    SendRawUnCompressed [clEncoder::Get]
    Communicate [clDecoder_Opus::Get]
    Communicate [clEncoder::Get]
    NeedHQAudio [clEncoder::Get]
    Decode As [clDecoder_Opus::Set]
    ->-> [clDecoder_Opus::Open]
    Opening file 'C:\Users\Gamer-PC\Desktop\Music\Leo Moracchioli\Metallica - Enter Sandman (cover by Leo Moracchioli).opus' for read access: Opened

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •