title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: upgrade

  1. #1
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    61

    upgrade

    I have a registrated R15 version, how do I upgrade to R16, is this for free ?

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,486

    Re: upgrade

    Click!


    Dat Ei

  3. #3
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    61

    Re: upgrade

    I see that I have to pay 31 for the R16 ????

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,727

    Re: upgrade

    There is a 50% discount in upgrading major versions correct.

  5. #5
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    61

    Re: upgrade

    I use the program only for ripping so is it usefull to upgrade ?
    I also have a Nad M50 where I can rip cd's, only it takes a lot of time to use the Nad for ripping, it rips very slow.
    If I find a cd-rip external drive of good quality I might use dbPoweramp again with flac lossless setting because I want the best possible sound.
    It's not so easy to find a solid vibration-free device, any suggestions ?

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,727

    Re: upgrade

    There have been improvements to R16 CD Ripper, the functionality and inclusion of the new Discogs database.

    See:

    https://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthr...racy-List-2016

    for good drives (not all are available), vibration is not an issue for computer ripping, only the end result.

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    61

    Re: upgrade

    I understand that the end result is most important, but a device that vibrates is not reassuring,
    it can possibly result that your digital to analog converter has to work harder because of data errors.
    The list (link) you hereby give is very interesting, I will plan to start looking to buy one. Thank you for that.

    Fernand

  8. #8
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,486

    Re: upgrade

    Hey Fernand,

    Quote Originally Posted by fla-ts View Post
    I understand that the end result is most important, but a device that vibrates is not reassuring,
    it can possibly result that your digital to analog converter has to work harder because of data errors.
    ripping is a digital read out of the audio data. There is no D/A converter involved. At the end of a rip CD Ripper calculates a checksum over the audio data and compares this checksum with the checksums of the rips of other users. Due to the algorithm of calculating the checksum it is nearly impossible to have identical checksums for different data.


    Dat Ei

  9. #9
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    61

    Re: upgrade

    That's correct, the D / A converter comes only when playing the flac files.
    Starting with a good CD drive + dBpoweramp can only come to the benefit to perform the calculations in the D/A converter.

  10. #10
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,486

    Re: upgrade

    As long as your rips are accurate, you can use a lousy CD drive sounding like a ship's engine. A good CD drive can increase the number of accurate (and fast) rips if your CDs are somewhat problematic (i.e. scratches, dirt, pressing).


    Dat Ei

  11. #11
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    61

    Re: upgrade

    Don't worry, all of my cd's are in perfect shape, i take good care of all of my music things

  12. #12
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    61

    Re: upgrade

    I have upgrated to the newer version.
    I have a few questions
    - How can I setup so that "number of tracks" not into the tag
    - Can I make my own genre list to make a choice before ripping

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,727

    Re: upgrade

    It is not possible to remove the track count (that I am aware of).

    You can edit the genre list in:

    %appdata%\dBpoweramp\genres.txt

  14. #14
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    61

    Re: upgrade

    - I changed the genre list as you indicated, thank you for the information
    - Avoid counting nummer of tracks, maybe an issue for upgrade

    I purchased a new better external drive (LG BE16NU50) and already have ripped twenty discs.
    I use the setting "uncompressed" in order to ensure the best possible quality.

    I wonder why Nad and Bluesound don't use dbPoweramp with their equipment. I have a Nad M50 streamer and M51 dac , both known as one of the best at their price so you should expect they should use one of the best ripping tools on the market.

  15. #15
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,486

    Re: upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by fla-ts View Post
    - Avoid counting nummer of tracks, maybe an issue for upgrade
    Just to understand your request: why do you want no track numbers in your id tags?


    Dat Ei

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •