title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Moving To New PC

  1. #1
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    54

    Moving To New PC

    Can I just remove it from the old PC and download the latest version to the new ?

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,442

    Re: Moving To New PC

    yes. that's all one needs to do (unless your old version is 15.x and the latest version is 16.x).

  3. #3
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    54

    Re: Moving To New PC

    And how do I find the old version ?

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,442

    Re: Moving To New PC

    Quote Originally Posted by rogerdn View Post
    And how do I find the old version ?
    what happens if you click on registration retreival? After you enter your old order number does it give you a link to download of your older product? If not, then I'm not sure so you'll need to wait until Spoon chimes in with further instructions.

    https://www.dbpoweramp.com/registration/

  5. #5
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    54

    Re: Moving To New PC

    Yes it did, thanks, I have 15.3, so what's the next step ?

    Btw Windows Programs on my old PC does not list dbPoweramp, why would that be ? However, it opens but I have not been able get it to rip it without errors of late, are they related ?

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,442

    Re: Moving To New PC

    Quote Originally Posted by rogerdn View Post
    Yes it did, thanks, I have 15.3, so what's the next step ?

    Btw Windows Programs on my old PC does not list dbPoweramp, why would that be ? However, it opens but I have not been able get it to rip it without errors of late, are they related ?
    just download 15.3 and install it on your new computer. Regarding the old computer, we'd need a lot more info to debug. But is it relevant? You're replacing that computer anyhow, so no need to troubleshoot it.

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    54

    Re: Moving To New PC

    Well I had planned to install 16.x but only because its latest Ver. And where would I find 15.x, I only see 16 ?
    Last edited by rogerdn; 08-22-2016 at 09:55 PM. Reason: Add question

  8. #8
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,442

    Re: Moving To New PC

    I too would install the newest version. Because you have an older version, you can buy 16.x at a discount. Use your old order number and go here:
    https://www.dbpoweramp.com/dmc-power...-upgradePP.htm

  9. #9

    Re: Moving To New PC

    I am in the process of moving to a new machine, technically a clean Win10 install on a new SSD on the same machine, but the same idea. Is there a way of restoring/migrating all of my settings (tagging, file paths, multi-encoder settings, etc.) from the old SSD to the new SSD?

    FWIW I am using ver. 14.4.

    Thanks,
    Brian

  10. #10
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,649

    Re: Moving To New PC

    Quote Originally Posted by brianblank View Post
    I am in the process of moving to a new machine, technically a clean Win10 install on a new SSD on the same machine, but the same idea. Is there a way of restoring/migrating all of my settings (tagging, file paths, multi-encoder settings, etc.) from the old SSD to the new SSD?
    Take a look here:
    Location where dBpoweramp saves its settings

  11. #11
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    91

    Re: Moving To New PC

    I'm moving from an older win7 machine to a newer win10.

    I've recovered my licensed copies of Illustrate software and have installed the correct codecs. How do I move the setting from my old machine to the new? I've looked here, https://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthr...s-its-settings , but it unclear what setting to move so my profiles etc. all migrate correctly.

    I use batch ripper and DB Poweramp CD ripper and music converter.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,369

    Re: Moving To New PC

    Those 2 locations are the ones used, export the registry and copy the files at that location (including folders).

  13. #13
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    91

    Re: Moving To New PC

    Thanks. This seems to have worked. Registry exporting and importing is not a common event for me.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •