title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Information log & error log are not displayed

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    7

    Information log & error log are not displayed

    I have recently moved to Windows 10. When I previously ran CD Ripper under Windows 7 it always displayed the information log and the error log after ripping. The logs are not now displayed even though I have selected After Ripping > Display Error Log and After Ripping > Display Information Log.

    This occurs with R15.3 and R16.0. Any ideas?

    Many thanks.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,804

    Re: Information log & error log are not displayed

    As a test set the output drive to one that does not exist, such as drive 'p:' you can type in to the path box, then rip a cd, it should show the error page at the end because it cannot write the files.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    7

    Re: Information log & error log are not displayed

    Okay, that worked fine. An "Errors & Information" box popped up to say that the destination drive could not be found. When running CD Ripper with Windows 7 I always saw a pop-up window at the end of ripping which summarised the ripping process even when there were no errors.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,804

    Re: Information log & error log are not displayed

    It is likely not configured on the secure settings page, you need:

    Add to Information Log (shown after ripping) (checked)
    Report Contents 'Complete'

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    7

    Re: Information log & error log are not displayed

    I have run the rip to a genuine destination and I'm now seeing the expected "Information" pop-up box. Forcing the previous "Errors & Information" box to appear seems to have cured the problem, but why? Is this a bug that will be fixed in a future release? I'd hate to think that I had just shelled out 15 + VAT to upgrade to R16 and still have the same bug that I was experiencing in R15.3.

    Many thanks.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    7

    Re: Information log & error log are not displayed

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    It is likely not configured on the secure settings page, you need:

    Add to Information Log (shown after ripping) (checked)
    Report Contents 'Complete'
    I've just taken a look and that check-box WAS checked. However, "Report Contents" was set to "Simple". I have absolutely no recollection of having to change these values in the past. Have the defaults been changed?

    Thanks.
    Last edited by leicray; 07-17-2016 at 02:01 PM.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,804

    Re: Information log & error log are not displayed

    Potentially the newer version uses a different value.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    7

    Re: Information log & error log are not displayed

    I am totally confused by your use of the word "potentially". Either the defaults are different in R16 relative to R15.3, or not. Surely you know if that's the case.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    7

    Re: Information log & error log are not displayed

    Bump

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,804

    Re: Information log & error log are not displayed

    Re-reading your first message, it is clear that the configuration data is being cleared in the upgrade from Windows 7 to 10.

    I would not class this as a bug in dBpoweramp as it expects the configuration details to be preserved between running.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    7

    Re: Information log & error log are not displayed

    Many thanks for the clarification.

    What's clear is that SOME settings (such as the Multi Encoder configuration) were preserved. If I want to perform a totally clean installation, what are the locations where dBpoweramp stores its settings? So far, I have found settings in registry keys at HKEY_CURRENT_USER > SOFTWARE > Illustrate > dBpoweramp & HKEY_USERS > .DEFAULT > Software > Illustrate > dBpoweramp and on the C: drive my AppData > Roaming folder. Should I be looking anywhere else?

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,804

    Re: Information log & error log are not displayed


  13. #13

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    29

    Re: Information log & error log are not displayed

    Just take caution with dei porting the registry settings. I have posted about my experiences previously and you can get unexpected outcomes when reimporting the Windows registry data.

    Would the Illustrate team consider adding an export settings functions? Having the application manage the complexity would be so much better. There are so many settings across the toolset, it really does become an end user nightmare if you reinstall on a fresh machine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •