title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Newbie Question - Best DSP settings?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Melapi
    • May 2015

Newbie Question - Best DSP settings?

Hi Folks,

Apologies in advance as I'm a Newbie. I've looked around the Forum and made some notes.

However I wanted to check with the Guru's out there before ripping over a 1000's Cd's to FLAC.

I did originally rip these several years ago to WMA Lossless and am reluctant to have to do this again.

So I want to make sure I get it right and the settings are as future proof as possible.

Could you tell me what the best DSP settings would be? I'm using the OS X version if that makes any difference?

I wanted to check the best settings for the album artwork. In future I'd like to stream FLAC wirelessly around the house.

Not sure what system/software yet in case that makes a difference to how the artwork needs to be copied? Probably a NAS(Asustor) and B&W wireless speakers, but that's a project for another day and pending funds and Wife's permission of course!

As I've got several songs which are the same but from different albums. I'd like to be able to clarify which album it's from. Does this mean I need to copy the artwork JPEG as a Folder and embedded it into the song file as well? If so how do you do that as the options are only Folder or Cover? Do I need to rip compilation albums separately with a different setting to original artist albums? Not sure if compilation albums need to have the settings differently? Ideally I'd like the format -Album, CD number, track, artist for compilations. Probably a format of - Artist, Album, track number, song for original albums. Can this be done together or does it have to be setup separately?