title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40

Thread: Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    38

    Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

    I have copied the screen with the rip status below here :

    2015-12-17.jpg

    Does this matter ?

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,281

    Re: Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

    Quote Originally Posted by paul poon View Post
    I have copied the screen with the rip status below here :

    2015-12-17.jpg

    Does this matter ?
    Probably ok (as it reports secure). How many passes have you set? but can you try ripping on a different drive to see if results are the same.

  3. #3
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,588

    Re: Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

    Ideally, you'd try another drive as garym suggests. You could also try giving the CD a wipe clean, and re-ripping. On several occasions this has worked for me.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    38

    Re: Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

    Thanks for the reply.
    I've set "Minimum Ultra Passes: 1 Maximum Ultra Passes: 2 End After Clean Passes: 1"

    This is a new DVD-ROM bought 3 days ago.
    The old one is probably broken.

    I don't mind if it doesn't matter.

    Below here I've copied another CD with the same problem :

    2015-12-17 (1).jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by paul poon; 12-17-2015 at 08:21 AM.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    38

    Re: Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

    Thanks for the advice garym and mville.
    I'll try wash the CD with soap to see whether it'll work.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    38

    Re: Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

    sorry to let you know that ripping doesn't work out after washing the CD with soap :

    2015-12-17 (2).jpg

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,588

    Re: Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

    Quote Originally Posted by paul poon View Post
    sorry to let you know that ripping doesn't work out after washing the CD with soap
    It is not an issue. I have many CD tracks that are not accuraterip accurate, but are secure.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    38

    Re: Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

    Thanks for the reply.

    If flac format and accurate flac format is just the same I don't mind.

    By the way, I don't know the difference between accurate and secure.

    I guess accurate rip is more important than secure (?)

    Thanks for letting me know that it's not an issue.

    I guess I won't take it as an error now.
    Last edited by paul poon; 12-17-2015 at 09:15 AM.

  9. #9
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,281

    Re: Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

    Quote Originally Posted by paul poon View Post
    Thanks for the reply.

    If flac format and accurate flac format is just the same I don't mind.

    By the way, I don't know the difference between accurate and secure.

    I guess accurate rip is more important than secure (?)

    Thanks for letting me know that it's not an issue.

    I guess I'll not take it as an error now.
    AccurateRip match just means that your secure rip matches one or more other people's rip of same CD. So it is just a powerful piece of evidence that your secure rip is really secure. A secure rip without an AR match is still very likely secure. It just doesn't have that extra bit of evidence of comparison to others rips.

  10. #10
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,588

    Re: Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

    Quote Originally Posted by paul poon View Post
    By the way, I don't know the difference between accurate and secure.

    I guess accurate rip is more important than secure
    Something to read:

    AccurateRip

    dBpoweramp CD Ripper Setup Guide

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    38

    Re: Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

    Thanks a lot for the explanation garym.
    Thanks a lot for all the information mville.
    I'll read it.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,590

    Re: Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

    In this instance I am quite certain your rip for track 1 has errors, all the other tracks verified with a high confidence. No CD drive on the market can self detect errors 100% of the time, a secure result is the drive thinking it is 100% correct, but accuraterip tells a different story here.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    38

    Re: Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

    Thanks spoon for the explanation.
    I'll go to the library to borrow the CD (if there's any) and try ripping on my CD-ROM.
    If there's no error in the track, my CD must be bad (?)

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    38

    Re: Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

    2015-12-18 (1).jpg

    /In this instance I am quite certain your rip for track 1 has errors/

    You're right, Spoon !

    I borrowed a CD from the library and I rip only track 1 and it's accurate.
    Last edited by paul poon; 12-18-2015 at 05:03 AM.

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    38

    Re: Rip Status = x AR (34) V secure

    Thanks garym and mville for the suggestion written below here :
    /but can you try ripping on a different drive to see if results are the same. /

    I borrowed a CD from the library and I rip only track 1 on the same DVD-ROM and it's accurate.
    I guess that there's problem with the CD.

    2015-12-18 (1).jpg
    Last edited by paul poon; 12-18-2015 at 05:03 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •