title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Newbie has some questions

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Haskell
    • Oct 2015

Newbie has some questions

Hello everybody!

This is my first time using the software so I'm sorry if these are stupid questions.

I used to listen to music on my phone witch has replaygain support and now I bought a new dap witch unfortunatley does not support replaygain. I want to fix this by applying the gain directly to the file.
    My library is all 16/44.1 flac I used the following DSP: bit depth:24 -> ReplayGain apply -> bit depth:16,dither:tpdf.

Is this the correct way without losing too much sound quality?

I also transcoded flac to flac a file without any dsp and i saw i modified the file size from 21.9 tot 18.6 and bitrate from 814 to 690 why did it do that?Did I lose some audio quality or what happened?

Thanks! And have a wonderful day!
  • garym
    dBpoweramp Guru
    • Nov 2007

Re: Newbie has some questions

Originally posted by Haskell
    Hello everybody!

This is my first time using the software so I'm sorry if these are stupid questions.

I used to listen to music on my phone witch has replaygain support and now I bought a new dap witch unfortunatley does not support replaygain. I want to fix this by applying the gain directly to the file.
    My library is all 16/44.1 flac I used the following DSP: bit depth:24 -> ReplayGain apply -> bit depth:16,dither:tpdf.

Is this the correct way without losing too much sound quality?

I also transcoded flac to flac a file without any dsp and i saw i modified the file size from 21.9 tot 18.6 and bitrate from 814 to 690 why did it do that?Did I lose some audio quality or what happened?

Thanks! And have a wonderful day!