title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Potential Problem with OS X El Capitan and dbPoweramp for Mac CD Ripper

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    35

    Potential Problem with OS X El Capitan and dbPoweramp for Mac CD Ripper

    I upgraded my Mac OS to El Capitan yesterday. Today I ripped 4 CDs just as I have done since I purchased the product. The problem is that non of the rips were Accuraterip. All used Secure and UltraSecure mode. All of the CDs are in perfect condition. I tried using XLD on one and it gave an Accuraterip result. I then went to Preferences and although the Accuraterip box is checked next to it it says "Accuraterip is unconfigured".

    What do I need to do correct this problem?

    Thanks for any help.

    dbPoweramp Preferences.jpg

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    937

    Re: Potential Problem with OS X El Capitan and dbPoweramp for Mac CD Ripper

    What cd drive do you have? What exact name is shown for it in dbpoweramp?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    35

    Re: Potential Problem with OS X El Capitan and dbPoweramp for Mac CD Ripper

    Quote Originally Posted by ********* View Post
    What cd drive do you have? What exact name is shown for it in dbpoweramp?
    I have and have been using with success The Apple Drive and got Accuraterip results.

    In the CD Ripper window under Drive > "disk4 [Apple SuperDrive]"

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    35

    Re: Potential Problem with OS X El Capitan and dbPoweramp for Mac CD Ripper

    dbPoweramp Preferences 2.jpg

    Here is another screen shot with preferences and the CD Ripper tool with a CD inserted. You can see again that it says "Accuraterip is not configured" and just below that is the "Configure Now" selection. However in trying to select that nothing happens.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    812

    Re: Potential Problem with OS X El Capitan and dbPoweramp for Mac CD Ripper

    Thanks for the bug report.

    Looks like Apple changed how the drive names are shown to us, so everything that relies on drive names - AccurateRip in particular - is broken.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    35

    Re: Potential Problem with OS X El Capitan and dbPoweramp for Mac CD Ripper

    Any update on a potential fix?

    Thank you

    Mike

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,040

    Re: Potential Problem with OS X El Capitan and dbPoweramp for Mac CD Ripper

    It is being investigated.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    35

    Re: Potential Problem with OS X El Capitan and dbPoweramp for Mac CD Ripper

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    It is being investigated.
    Thanks. Much appreciated. I miss using this tool.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    812

    Re: Potential Problem with OS X El Capitan and dbPoweramp for Mac CD Ripper

    Addressed in R15.3 beta.
    https://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthr...OSX-R15-3-beta

    We still cannot auto detect drive offset on the new OSX, unfortunately.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    35

    Re: Potential Problem with OS X El Capitan and dbPoweramp for Mac CD Ripper

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterP View Post
    Addressed in R15.3 beta.
    https://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthr...OSX-R15-3-beta

    We still cannot auto detect drive offset on the new OSX, unfortunately.
    I just tried it and Accuraterip seems to be back. Regarding the drive offset could you explain the meaning of that? Is there something I should be doing within dbpoweramp Preferences or settings for my drive?

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    35

    Re: Potential Problem with OS X El Capitan and dbPoweramp for Mac CD Ripper

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterP View Post
    Addressed in R15.3 beta.
    https://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthr...OSX-R15-3-beta

    We still cannot auto detect drive offset on the new OSX, unfortunately.
    Does that mean I should manually input the offset for my Apple Super Drive?

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,040

    Re: Potential Problem with OS X El Capitan and dbPoweramp for Mac CD Ripper

    For 99% of people, there is no need to change the drive offset.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    3

    Re: Potential Problem with OS X El Capitan and dbPoweramp for Mac CD Ripper

    I found the cause for this, and also a fix that usually works, or at least worked for me.

    This is a bug that seems to have coincided with El Capitan's introduction of the System Integrity Protection feature.

    Apple SuperDrives, and possibly other USB attached optical drives, will fail to be recognized properly if attached to the system post-boot. They will register as "Apple" "SuperDrive" and under "SupportLevel" they'll display "Unsupported".

    Rebooting the machine with the drive still attached should render its exact model name visible, but probably won't fix the "Unsupported" status, even if the drive does happen to work with whatever software you throw at it.

    In my case, it's an "HL-DT-ST" "DVDRW GX50N", revision "RR06". My dad's SuperDrive is the exact same optical drive model.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    2

    Re: Potential Problem with OS X El Capitan and dbPoweramp for Mac CD Ripper

    In my case the CD ripper failed to work at all under El Capitan. I found that the SIP prevented certain types of files and system files being written correctly

    To overcome the problem I have disabled SIP and now all functions correctly.

    SIP can be disabled by booting into recovery mode, selecting the Utilities tab and opening a terminal window. Type csrutil disable at the command prom and press return.

    Alternatively typing csrutil enable --without fs will allow file permissions to be altered as required

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •