title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Problems in ripping

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    3

    Thumbs down Problems in ripping

    I'm ripping my complete CD collection.
    Some Cd's give problems. Db Poweramp does not rip some tracks at the and of some CD's.
    However I can play the CD completely on my CD player and Itunes and Windows madiaplayer can rip the cd's fast and correct.

    T complete the rip I copy the ID-tags to the track ripped correctly with Itunes and replace the bad track in the ripped cd with DbPoweramp.

    However, I did not spent 61,71 to meet these kind of problems.

    So: Ripping with i-tunes works. Hence the cd reader works and the CD is OK.

    I updated today to the latest version, but nothing improved.

    Does anybody know a solution

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,721

    Re: Problems in ripping

    Quote Originally Posted by gelr View Post
    Some Cd's give problems. Db Poweramp does not rip some tracks at the and of some CD's.
    However I can play the CD completely on my CD player and Itunes and Windows madiaplayer can rip the cd's fast and correct.
    CDRipper alerts the end user to any errors in the ripping process. Just because iTunes and Windows Media Player rip CDs without alerting the end user to any errors, does not mean that the rip is accurate/correct.

  3. #3
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    754

    Re: Problems in ripping

    Quote Originally Posted by gelr View Post
    So: Ripping with i-tunes works. Hence the cd reader works and the CD is OK.
    Your logic may seem valid, but it's actually flawed. Ripping with iTunes is not a definitive test of whether a CD is OK or not.

    Does anybody know a solution
    I have two:
    (1) Since you are satisfied with iTunes' rip results and its "less troublesome" approach, that may be a better ripping program for you. Most of its millions of users are probably perfectly happy with it.
    (2) If you'd still like to use dBp, you can change your ripping settings to Burst Mode, without error correction. That'll be a similar experience to using iTunes, but you'd get dBp's metadata functionality instead, in case you happen to prefer it.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    3

    Re: Problems in ripping

    Dear BrodyBoy,

    Could you tell me where and how I can change the ripping settings to burst mode?

  5. #5
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,299

    Re: Problems in ripping

    Quote Originally Posted by gelr View Post
    Could you tell me where and how I can change the ripping settings to burst mode?
    In CDRipper click on Options.


    Dat Ei

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    190

    Re: Problems in ripping

    The best advice I can offer is to have a second ripping drive. When one drive fails to rip a particular album or track, switch to the second. This should resolve 90% of all ripping difficulties.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    29

    Re: Problems in ripping

    Hi eaglescout1998

    I have posted on Spoon's "CD/DVD Drive Accuracy List 2014" thread recently about different drives. Not had a reply yet. I would much rather use dbpa as it highlights errors. However it has highlighted errors on a few of my cd's now and so I want to try a different drive, preferably fitting it via this usb adaptor

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1114159556...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

    as advised by Spoon.

    However, I wondered what second drive you use and whether it is one of the drives on Spoon's Accuracy list. If it is not then what does this mean in terms of its reliability? I am a bit confused by Spoon's list because it seems to be suggesting that there are only a few good drives out there, and these are very hard to find now , even on ebay.

    Also, if my current drive reports errors on some cds, including very new unscratched ones, then why would a different drive be able to rip the same cd without reporting errors? Is it something to do with it being able to recover them? What does the second drive do differently? I should just say that the majority of my cd collection that I have ripped to date (FLAC) have been fine and have passed the Accurate Rip confidence test.

    Thanks.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •