title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Why won't a FLAC file burned to CD play?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • metalhead64
    • Jun 2015

Why won't a FLAC file burned to CD play?

I'm new to converting audio files have have ripped my CD's to FLAC. I'd like to burn a few FLAC files back to CD so to keep my original CD's in pristine condition. I managed to burn a CD but it wouldn't play in my CD player. I'm assuming the FLAC file isn't compatible with a CD player. What format does a FLAC file need to be converted to before burning to a CD?

Or is there something else going on?

Thanks!
  • mville
    dBpoweramp Guru
    • Dec 2008

Re: Why won't a FLAC file burned to CD play?

Originally posted by metalhead64
    I'm new to converting audio files have have ripped my CD's to FLAC. I'd like to burn a few FLAC files back to CD so to keep my original CD's in pristine condition. I managed to burn a CD but it wouldn't play in my CD player. I'm assuming the FLAC file isn't compatible with a CD player. What format does a FLAC file need to be converted to before burning to a CD?
    Does the CD player read CD-R discs (check your CD player manual specification)?

CD-R disks are not the same as CD-DA discs (google to understand the differences).

Comment

• metalhead64
      • Jun 2015

Thanks, let me check.

OK, I tried an older burned CD-R disc and it played in my current CD player. I grabbed a blank CD-R disc and burned a FLAC file to it. It won't play in the same player used before but will play in my computer if I select foobar2000 as the player. Seems to me the FLAC file is the problem. Any ideas?

Comment

• garym
        dBpoweramp Guru
        • Nov 2007

Thanks, let me check.