title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Can't Rip CD

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    14

    Can't Rip CD

    I got a new CD last week (David Gray, White Ladder). When I loaded it DBPowerAmp retrived the name, tag information, and art work with no problem but when I tried to rip the CD it had errors on every track and would not rip the CD. I pulled several other CD's from my collection and was able to get them to rip without any problems so I assumed the CD was bad, sent it back and ordered another one. The replacement arrived today and the same thing happened - tags and artwork retrieved but errors on all tracks when ripping.

    I then opened iTunes and to my surprise it was able to rip the CD. Any ideas as to what is happening?

    FYI, I upgraded to the most recent Reference Version on 2/4/15.

    Thanks

    Keith

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,327

    Re: Can't Rip CD

    Hey Keith,

    this CD was released in 2000 from Sony / Warner. My guess is that this CD is copy protected and defective by design. You can try to configure CD Ripper that it might handle this CD (CD Ripper -> Options: select 'Defective by Design').


    Dat Ei

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,633

    Re: Can't Rip CD

    What exact error msg was shown?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    14

    Re: Can't Rip CD

    Thank you for your response. I don't see the response - "defective by design under options. Can you clarify?

    Thanks

    Keith

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    14

    Re: Can't Rip CD

    Hi Spoon: Under the rip status it simply shows a red x with the word Error next to it. Under title there was "Hidden First Track (ability to rip depends on CD drive)"

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,327

    Re: Can't Rip CD

    Hey Keith,

    in CD Ripper click "Options" and check "defective by design" in the first section "Ripping Method".


    Dat Ei

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    14

    Re: Can't Rip CD

    Hi: I did find that in options but it still won't rip.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,633

    Re: Can't Rip CD

    Uncheck the first track, then try to rip.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    14

    Re: Can't Rip CD

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Uncheck the first track, then try to rip.
    Thanks, but that didn't work.

    But, in the process I saw that there is a hidden first track 0. It was not checked. I just checked it and it is ripping. Go figure.

    Thanks for your help!!

    Thx

    Keith

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    4

    Re: Can't Rip CD

    Hi

    I am having the same problem but with multiple CD's, mainly classical. I am getting the "unable to open file" message on all tracks and all CD's that I have tried. I have unchecked all boxes on the "Accurate rip" option and also tried CD "defective by design" method. The CD's all rip ok to iTunes and I have also tried ripping using a different writer...same problem. Anyone out there can help me with this? Thanks

  11. #11
    dBpoweramp Guru Wayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Lowestoft, England
    Posts
    1,239

    Re: Can't Rip CD

    Quote Originally Posted by Suggs53 View Post
    Hi

    I am having the same problem but with multiple CD's, mainly classical. I am getting the "unable to open file" message on all tracks and all CD's that I have tried. I have unchecked all boxes on the "Accurate rip" option and also tried CD "defective by design" method. The CD's all rip ok to iTunes and I have also tried ripping using a different writer...same problem. Anyone out there can help me with this? Thanks
    Can you post the error messages here?

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    14

    Re: Can't Rip CD

    I'm still finding it impossible to rip "copy protected" CD's. What is interesting is that I can rip them using iTunes, Windows Media Player, and several other more generic programs but I can't get them to rip using dbpoweramp or EZ CD Audio Converter, both programs I paid for and recently updated. I did discover that when I updated to 15.1 it did not remove my older version of dbpoweramp. So, I removed everything and started with a clean install, upgrading to 15.2. That didn't help.

    Any ideas how I get past this issue?

    Thanks

    Keith

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    14

    Re: Can't Rip CD

    Here is what I'm seeing for each track:

    Unable to read CD, check CD disc (frame LBA 32 ripping 26 frames track and LBA 18040 [clRiperSecure::Rip]

    The only difference by track is the LBA number - for example it is 18040 for track 1, 37740 for track 2, 52545 for track 3, etc.

    Thanks for your help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •