title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

  1. #1
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    74

    Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

    How much current can be drawn from the three USB sockets on the rear of the RipNAS? And are there any limits to which ways the current can be drawn eg. if it's (say) 200mA from each port, can I draw 600mA from just one port if I don't draw any current from the other two? Are there any problems with peaks for initial spin up currents? I'm using the external 12V PSU that came with the RipNAS.

    I may be wanting to attach USB powered 2.5" external hard discs to the RipNAS for backup purposes. Hence my question.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,894

    Re: Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

    Power should not be drawn from the ripnas, it advises in the manual not to draw any power.

  3. #3
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    74

    Re: Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    Power should not be drawn from the ripnas, it advises in the manual not to draw any power.
    If that's true then it means RipNAS is not USB compliant. I can't remember what it is but there's an amount of power you're supposed to be able to draw from all USB sockets and then software negotiates for more. Zero is not USB compliant, and I'm disappointed if that's the case.

    I have been given two 2TB Western Digital My Passport 2.5" portable drives that I want to use for backups, but they expect USB power. I don't want to use a USB hub to power them because USB 2 is slow enough already (the drives are USB 3), adding a hub will make it even slower.

    I am not happy about this.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    74

    Re: Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

    Well looking back at the internals photographs I took when I swapped the data hard disc, the RipNAS contains an Intel motherboard. So I suspect what I need is the specs for the motherboard from Intel, since that is what matters. I can even see the fuses for the USB power, so I don't know why you claim it can't provide any.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,894

    Re: Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

    The motherboard is capable, but the PSU in the ripnas which is 1/50th the size of a normal computer psu is not able to handle the extra draw.

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    74

    Re: Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    The motherboard is capable, but the PSU in the ripnas which is 1/50th the size of a normal computer psu is not able to handle the extra draw.
    Thankyou, that is a much more sensible reply and makes sense technically.

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    74

    Re: Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

    The PSU in my RipNAS is on the Intel motherboard, it just takes 12V straight into the rear panel. I believe there may have been earlier RipNAS's with a seperate internal PSU. Which of these are you talking about? If the motherboard has both the PSU and USB ports on it, wouldn't it all be rated to cope? Or can the USB ports only supply 100mA, which having looked it up is all you're gauranteed to get (you're supposed to negotiate if you want more power).

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,894

    Re: Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

    The Ripnas uses a PicoPSU which plugs direct into the motherboard internally. The 12V is stepped down to 5V for motherboard and USB, it is the 5V line which does not have much more capacity.

  9. #9
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    74

    Re: Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    The Ripnas uses a PicoPSU which plugs direct into the motherboard internally. The 12V is stepped down to 5V for motherboard and USB, it is the 5V line which does not have much more capacity.
    I see no evidence of a Pico or any other type of PSU plugged into the motherboard on mine. It takes the 12V direct from the external supply straight into the motherboard, the 12V in connector is soldered to the motherboard on the rear panel. My RipNAS has 3 USB ports, HDMI and VGA video, and no Parallel port. I've seen pictures of other RipNAS S1000 rear panels with 4 USB ports, Parallel, no HDMI, and the 12V in going in at the top of the rear panel clearly not on the motherboard. There are other detail differences like position of the ethernet socket, PS/2 keyboard/mouse connectors (mine doesn't have any) etc. I conclude from this there are at least two different versions of the RipNAS S1000 with different motherboards.

    EDIT: Mine does NOT look like this. The case of mine is virtually identical (except mine has an eject button access hole on the front panel), but the rear panel of mine is quite different to this (scroll down for rear panel photo, can't link directly):

    http://www.wegotserved.com/2009/02/2...erver-unboxed/
    Last edited by Owen Smith; 07-27-2014 at 11:01 AM.

  10. #10
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    74

    Re: Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

    I found a picture, the rear panel of my RipNAS looks like this one except mine is white and I've uncovered the VGA and HDMI ports. This is clearly a different motherboard and if it's like mine the PSU is entirely on the motherboard.

    http://www.hdfever.fr/2011/07/05/rip...un-futur-test/

  11. #11
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    74

    Re: Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

    Well? My RipNAS clearly doesn't have a PicoPSU fitted, it has a main board power supply. So how much current can I draw from the 5V on the USB ports?

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,894

    Re: Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

    The Pico PSU is inside the Ripnas, 100% you have the PicoPSU.

  13. #13
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    74

    Re: Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    The Pico PSU is inside the Ripnas, 100% you have the PicoPSU.
    Here is a picture of the inside of my RipNAS. There is no PicoPSU, the 12V plugs directly into the main PCB and the power supply is on the main PCB. This is bottom right on this picture.

    P7213972.jpg
    Last edited by Owen Smith; 08-02-2014 at 05:37 PM.

  14. #14
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    74

    Re: Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

    Here is a picture taken more tightly on the main PCB only. The previous picture had all the relevant detail, but the forum software scaled it down massively in resolution so now it's much harder to see anything.

    P7213991.jpg

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,894

    Re: Power that can be drawn from RipNAS USB sockets?

    Ah it is one of the Intel boards which takes the 12V direct to board. Potentially you are ok on a small 2.5" hdd off the USB.

    I thought from the photo you had the older model ripnas.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •