title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Ripping to MP3 vs Converting from FLAC to MP3

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • FuturePhantasy
    • Jun 2014

Ripping to MP3 vs Converting from FLAC to MP3

Hi I am still new to dbpoweramp but lately I have been ripping to FLAC and then using the batch converter to convert to MP3 but I heard that converting from FLAC to MP3 deteriorates the sound quality, is that true?. So what is better ripping to MP3 or converting to MP3? I still want to rip to both FLAC and MP3 files, FLAC is for my FooBar2000 and MP3 for my iPod devices. I heard there is multi encoding but how does that work? Can you tell how to do that? Should I do separate rips for FLAC and MP3 or use multi encoding for both? I have yet to rip my entire collection so I am hoping to do that.
    I appreciate anyone answering my questions as I am still a newbie.

Thanks
  • Dat Ei
    dBpoweramp Guru
    • Feb 2014

Re: Ripping to MP3 vs Converting from FLAC to MP3

Hey FuturePhantasy,

FLAC is a lossless codec, that means, that it is as good as the original CD (wave format). FLAC has some Advantages over wave, like the lossless compression (smaller files) and the possibility to store meta data (ID3 tags).

So it's best to rip the collection into FLAC and to use this as an Archive and a base to convert to different codexs like mp3.

Dat Ei

Comment

• garym
      dBpoweramp Guru
      • Nov 2007

Originally posted by FuturePhantasy
      Hi I am still new to dbpoweramp but lately I have been ripping to FLAC and then using the batch converter to convert to MP3 but I heard that converting from FLAC to MP3 deteriorates the sound quality, is that true?.
      Thanks