title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Ripping FLAC for streaming from Synology NAS to Arcan AV Receiver

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rwatking
    • May 2014

Ripping FLAC for streaming from Synology NAS to Arcan AV Receiver

Hi

Apologies if the answers have been posted previously but I'm having trouble condensing them to solve my issue. I'm a newbie to all of this!

I want to rip my CD collection to FLAC and have purchased dBpoweramp for the purpose.

I intend to store the resultant output onto a Synology DS214Play NAS and am planning on playing them across a network on an Arcam AVR380 AV receiver. The DS214Play is a DLNA media server and the AVR380 is DLNA compliant and both are uPnP compliant. On the face of it both support the FLAC format.

Given the various options in dBpoweramp, I need to know what settings will give me the best chance of ripping FLAC files from my CDs so that they will play back on the above devices.

I tend to like to play albums as whole entities rather than individual tracks but would like the option of compiling playlists of individual tracks occasionally.

Specifically, what are the best dBpoweramp settings to achieve playback by album (most of the time) and CD quality (HiFi) output under the circumstances that I've described above?

Many thanks in anticipation.

Roger
  • garym
    dBpoweramp Guru
    • Nov 2007

Re: Ripping FLAC for streaming from Synology NAS to Arcan AV Receiver

You don't need to do anything special with regard to the FLAC files. Just rip to regular FLAC files (any compression is fine)** If a player will play FLAC, it will play any FLAC file (I suppose their might be rare exceptions to this but I've never seen them).