title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 12 of 28 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast
Results 166 to 180 of 407

Thread: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

  1. #166
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,053

    Re: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

    The virtual drive must exist, for it to be listed. Search google for "WD virtual cd 1110"

  2. #167
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,371

    Re: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

    Quote Originally Posted by exchgr View Post
    I'd love to be able to use utility codecs/DSPs (specifically, ReplayGain with ITUNNORM support) without needing to transcode. The whole point of ReplayGain is to nondestructively normalize your music; transcoding defeats the purpose.

    Side note: This is the only OS X app I've found that supports this feature for AAC files. Would be great if this were made a priority.
    I'm not sure about the current status of the OSX beta application, but for the full version I use in Windows, what you are wanting is available and standard. That is, I can select files/albums and "convert to" a DSP effect (e.g., ReplayGain). This simply will add the RG tags and not transcode at all. Perhaps the use of the term "convert to" is misleading in that context, as there is no "audio conversion" going on in my example.

  3. #168

    Re: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

    The WD virtual cd 1110 is in the WD smart ware packaged with the MyBook I use for backup with Time Machine. Can it be deselectable, or at least can the accurate rip configuration be stopped.

  4. #169
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,371

    Re: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

    Quote Originally Posted by garym View Post
    I'm not sure about the current status of the OSX beta application, but for the full version I use in Windows, what you are wanting is available and standard. That is, I can select files/albums and "convert to" a DSP effect (e.g., ReplayGain). This simply will add the RG tags and not transcode at all. Perhaps the use of the term "convert to" is misleading in that context, as there is no "audio conversion" going on in my example.
    and note that some (many) DSPs and UTILITY CODECS must be installed separately from dbpoweramp. These can be downloaded and installed from here (note I'm a windows user, so not sure about status of OSX DSPs for download).

    http://www.dbpoweramp.com/codec-central.htm

  5. #170
    Eric Seaberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    16

    Re: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

    Quote Originally Posted by exchgr View Post
    Side note: This is the only OS X app I've found that supports this feature for AAC files. Would be great if this were made a priority.
    Not entirely true, there's an OSX app I use called iVolume that does an amazing job with ReplayGain, and allows you to adjust the threshold at which it works. http://www.mani.de/en/ivolume/

    Not to sidestep dBpoweramp, which I too am THRILLED to see ported over to Mac, but I just wnated to throw out the other app available.

  6. #171

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3

    Re: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

    Quote Originally Posted by garym View Post
    note I'm a windows user
    I am aware of the existence of Windows utility codecs. I am not a Windows user. I'm requesting that the utility codecs be released as standalone programs for OS X. Currently, they're only available as part of the transcoding process.

  7. #172

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3

    Re: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

    Quote Originally Posted by Eric Seaberg View Post
    Not entirely true, there's an OSX app I use called iVolume that does an amazing job with ReplayGain, and allows you to adjust the threshold at which it works. http://www.mani.de/en/ivolume/

    Not to sidestep dBpoweramp, which I too am THRILLED to see ported over to Mac, but I just wnated to throw out the other app available.
    Thanks, I had seen that and forgotten about it. Since I only needed it for one album, I was able to avoid overstepping the demo limit, too.

  8. #173

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    6

    Re: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

    Quote Originally Posted by Eric Seaberg View Post
    ...there's an OSX app I use called iVolume that does an amazing job with ReplayGain...

    Not to sidestep dBpoweramp, which I too am THRILLED to see ported over to Mac, but I just wnated to throw out the other app available.
    Thanks, I'd forgotten about iVolume, I have that from a bundle years ago. It'll keep me going until/if these features make it into DBPA

  9. #174
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,371

    Re: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

    Quote Originally Posted by exchgr View Post
    I am aware of the existence of Windows utility codecs. I am not a Windows user. I'm requesting that the utility codecs be released as standalone programs for OS X. Currently, they're only available as part of the transcoding process.
    I'm sure that's part of the ultimate plan. Not a full service program if that is not done (eventually).

  10. #175

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Jackson Heights, NY
    Posts
    30

    Re: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

    Hi Spoon,

    Now that Apple has announced the release date for Yosemite (OSX 10.10) as October 16, I was wondering if you've compiled with the beta library. Or if you intend to do so.

    Thanks for your obsessive dedication over these many years,

    Mark

  11. #176
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,053

    Re: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

    Not yet no.

  12. #177

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    7

    Re: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

    Just another note of appreciation for all the hard work porting to OSX . It really is much appreciated.

    ~M~

  13. #178
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    93

    Exclamation Re: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

    So happy there's an OS X version around. It worked really well for about 25 CD's. Then it got kinda hung up on secure ripping one track, re-reading 3 frames took forever and ever -- almost ... Had to eject the CD and quit dBPowerAmp. Now I have a problem. The ripper window is just as small as the first select windows, and it stays just white. I haven't been able to bring back the main window.
    I tried nuking app and the prefs file and reinstalling, tried rebooting, but same result.
    Also it crashes if I enter Prefences and click the secure settings ...
    Not sure how to proceed from here on.

    Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 16.31.51 .png
    Last edited by flips; 10-05-2014 at 10:42 AM. Reason: Adding screenshot

  14. #179
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    93

    Post Re: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

    I get the normal functionality back if I create a new user on the system (Mavericks 10.9.5). But it would be nice to know what's messed up for my default user -- so I won't have to copy music from this new user all the time ... (I tried removing the plist prefs file and searched/looked for other files/dirs, with no luck.)

  15. #180
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    93

    Re: dBpoweramp Music Converter OS X Discussions

    I managed to get it stuck with the same symptoms again. This time I just closed the review metadata window with the red/close button, and all dBPowerAmp windows are gone. And if I bring it back with Cmd+R or re-open the app, the ripper window is small a blank, and entering preferences, secure rip prefs causes a crash. (It seems to have forgotten my previously selected secure rip choice as well.)
    I guess I'll get it back in working condition with creating a new user, but removing the problem prefs file or whatever it is, would be better

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •