title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 39

Thread: Asset Upnp for Synology?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    2

    Asset Upnp for Synology?

    Hi,
    Are there any plans for Asset Upnp to be made available for synology? Or is it already, I can't find any reference to it.

    The reason I ask is that at the moment I'm running a Qnap and need to "upgrade" as it's a little underpowered. Just started using Asset and it's great and I want to license it. But I can't choose between another Qnap, or Synology. so........

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,956

    Re: Asset Upnp for Synology?

    No current plans to release for Synology

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    2

    Re: Asset Upnp for Synology?

    Ok, Thanks.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    79

    Re: Asset Upnp for Synology?

    Spoon, if Synology ever made an Atom-based NAS, for example a Silvermont NAS, would that be something you'd consider for Asset? I've been interested in a Silvermont NAS since last Sept and I'm not aware of any yet in the market, but maybe soon.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,956

    Re: Asset Upnp for Synology?

    It is about demand and time to create (the actual hardware is required). I do not think there is enough demand.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    16

    Re: Asset Upnp for Synology?

    Hi Spoon,
    Is there any change in your intention to develop Asset for Synology NAS? Synology don't appear to be improving their basic media server, so there is definitely a need for a better solution.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,956

    Re: Asset Upnp for Synology?

    There are no current plans.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: Asset Upnp for Synology?

    Just replying to state I'd be interested in seeing this on Synology if you ever get around to it Thanks!

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1

    Re: Asset Upnp for Synology?

    Hi Spoon
    I am waiting for Asset UPnP for Sinology too.

    Best Regards
    Urgenta

  10. #10

    Re: Asset Upnp for Synology?

    Me too. Synology sell a lot of NAS devices so I am not sure why there would be no demand.

    Regards

    Martin

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    1

    Re: Asset Upnp for Synology?

    hi, just count me too for being very interested in asset for SYNOLOGY

    kind regards
    duncan

  12. #12

    Re: Asset Upnp for Synology?

    Hi,
    Good news for owners of a Synology NAS DS214SE or eq. (same ARM7 core)
    You can run Asset for Raspberry Pi on it.

    Installation instructions for ASSET on Synology DS214SE

    Enable the SSH-service (using port 10022) on the Synology NAS via the diskstation manager under control panel>Terminal and SNMP options

    On a windows pc:
    Launch "Putty.exe" and open a PuTTy session:
    Host Name: diskstation (or IP address of synology NAS)
    Port: 10022
    Connection type: SSH

    login as: root
    root@diskstation's password: ********** (enter here Synology's admin password)

    cd /usr/bin
    mkdir asset
    chmod 777 asset
    cd asset

    wget http://www.dbpoweramp.com/install/As...berryPi.tar.gz

    tar -zxvf *.gz
    rm *.gz

    cd /usr/bin/asset/bin
    ./AssetUPnP


    Close PuTTy

    Configure Asset with a web browser and the URL http://diskstation:45537


    To autostart Asset, make an 'asset.conf' script file with 'Notepad'
    Content of the 'asset.conf' file:
    start on started synonetd
    stop on runlevel [06]
    exec /usr/bin/asset/bin/AssetUPnP


    Copy the asset.conf script file from your pc to the /etc/init folder on your NAS.
    To do that? download 'WinSCP', install WinSCP and launch WinSCP
    Login with:
    File protocol: SFTP
    Address Host: diskstation (or IP address of synology NAS)
    Port: 10022
    user name: root
    password: ********** (enter here Synology's admin password)

    Browse on the left window to the 'asset.conf' file
    Browse on the right window to the path: /etc/init
    Copy the 'asset.conf' file to the /etc/init folder
    Close WinSCP

    Reboot the Synology NAS

    Enjoy

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    1

    Re: Asset Upnp for Synology?

    Hello all,
    do you have any experience with the solution since that last entry from"Oldrocker"?
    Im using ASSET on my PC and will migrate to my NAS DS213j. I have arounf 500CDs.

    cheers

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16

    Thumbs up Re: Asset Upnp for Synology?

    Quote Originally Posted by gegges11 View Post
    Hello all,
    do you have any experience with the solution since that last entry from"Oldrocker"?
    Im using ASSET on my PC and will migrate to my NAS DS213j. I have arounf 500CDs.

    cheers
    Yes very interesting for me too!
    Please post your experience!

    I don't know why ASSET isn't official supported for Synology Nas. I'm using DS2411+.
    It would be very appreciate if this works that an official version with support will be released!!

    thx
    melgoth

  15. #15

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: Asset Upnp for Synology?

    Quote Originally Posted by melgoth View Post
    Yes very interesting for me too!
    Please post your experience!

    I don't know why ASSET isn't official supported for Synology Nas. I'm using DS2411+.
    It would be very appreciate if this works that an official version with support will be released!!

    thx
    melgoth
    I've just bought a 215j - and the instruction to install ASSET (the RaspberryPi version 4.6) worked perfectly. Everything seems to work.

    Martin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •