title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 77

Thread: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

  1. #46
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Posts
    1,660

    Re: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

    The files on the SD still show as 'corrupted' even with MalwareBytes disabled.

    I do seem to be able to DELETE files now, which is something I suppose!
    Last edited by monsterjazzlick; 04-06-2018 at 02:44 PM. Reason: spelling

  2. #47
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    386

    Re: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

    The binary comparison went off without a hitch. So, the SD card would seem to be in order, but PerfectTUNES won't have any of it. Odd.

  3. #48
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Posts
    1,660

    Question Re: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

    Quote Originally Posted by Jailhouse View Post
    The binary comparison went off without a hitch. So, the SD card would seem to be in order, but PerfectTUNES won't have any of it. Odd.
    Yes, that's exactly how it is. Bizarre!

    Obviously I don't want to start cross-threading, but I posted a quickie here (verbatim-03) just to try to eliminate all possibilities. It may or may not be a factor (I don't that it is as I still believe the problem lies within Windoze):


    I phoned Amazon who said that (because I purchased it directly from Amazon) I can return the SD for a like-for-like replacement. So that is one option. Though I doubt the SD is at fault and I may run into the same scenario with the replacement.
    Last edited by monsterjazzlick; 04-06-2018 at 03:32 PM. Reason: LINK

  4. #49
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Posts
    1,660

    Re: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

    I'm now FORMATTING the damn thing as a last ditch attempt ...

  5. #50
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    386

    Re: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

    Quote Originally Posted by monsterjazzlick View Post
    Amazon ... said that ... I can return the SD for a like-for-like replacement. So that is one option. Though I doubt the SD is at fault and I may run into the same scenario with the replacement.
    The problem seems to be only with PerfectTUNES. I recall from a couple of pages ago that running Test Conversion on the SD card files found no corruption.

  6. #51
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Posts
    1,660

    Re: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

    Quote Originally Posted by Jailhouse View Post
    The problem seems to be only with PerfectTUNES. I recall from a couple of pages ago that running Test Conversion on the SD card files found no corruption.
    Hi JH,

    I deleted everything from the SD-card and then formatted it. It took 3 hours! Should it really take so long to format a blank SD?

    I then transferred all of FLACs back onto the SD (took another 3 hours!).

    I cleared the cache of PerfTunes; and now I am running PerfTunes on the SD. It's going to take, it estimates 2/3 hours ...

    If this fails, I think the only other thing I can do is uninstall MalwareBytes (as opposed to just disabling it).

    Paul

  7. #52
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,349

    Re: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

    Quote Originally Posted by monsterjazzlick View Post
    Hi JH,

    I deleted everything from the SD-card and then formatted it. It took 3 hours! Should it really take so long to format a blank SD?

    I then transferred all of FLACs back onto the SD (took another 3 hours!).

    I cleared the cache of PerfTunes; and now I am running PerfTunes on the SD. It's going to take, it estimates 2/3 hours ...

    If this fails, I think the only other thing I can do is uninstall MalwareBytes (as opposed to just disabling it).

    Paul
    Wow, reading off SD card must be very slow. I recently ran perfecttunes on about 50,000 FLAC files and it a little less than 2 hours. Reading files directly from an internal HDD (spinning not an SSD drive).

  8. #53
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Posts
    1,660

    Question Re: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

    Quote Originally Posted by garym View Post
    Wow, reading off SD card must be very slow. I recently ran perfecttunes on about 50,000 FLAC files and it a little less than 2 hours. Reading files directly from an internal HDD (spinning not an SSD drive).
    Hi Garym,

    You posted the very second my most recent PerfTunes completed!

    I think one of the many things I have tried over the last 12 hours may have worked because, as I interpret it, the FLACs on the SD are no longer appearing as being 'corrupted'?:


    I can't pinpoint which factor though!

    Paul

    (The scan shows results for C-drive and SD-card.)
    Last edited by monsterjazzlick; 04-07-2018 at 03:09 PM. Reason: LINK

  9. #54
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,349

    Re: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

    Correct. none of these files are now being reported to you as corrupt.

  10. #55
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Posts
    1,660

    Question Re: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

    Quote Originally Posted by garym View Post
    Correct. none of these files are now being reported to you as corrupt.
    Cheers Garym.

    Any guesses as to what may have been the root cause, please? SD, MalwareBytes, Windoze, PerfTunes? Could it be related to my earlier question (please see verbatim-3):


    And would you (permanently?) uninstall MalwareBytes and well as accepting a replacement SD from Amazon?

    Many thanks.

  11. #56
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,349

    Re: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

    Quote Originally Posted by monsterjazzlick View Post
    Cheers Garym.

    Any guesses as to what may have been the root cause, please? SD, MalwareBytes, Windoze, PerfTunes? Could it be related to my earlier question (please see verbatim-3):

    And would you (permanently?) uninstall MalwareBytes and well as accepting a replacement SD from Amazon?

    Many thanks.
    no clue.

  12. #57
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Posts
    1,660

    Re: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

    ... have completely uninstalled MalwareBytes now.

  13. #58
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,627

    Re: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

    Quote Originally Posted by monsterjazzlick View Post
    Any guesses as to what may have been the root cause, please? SD, MalwareBytes, Windoze, PerfTunes?
    In which mobile devices are you using the SD Card?

  14. #59
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Posts
    1,660

    Re: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    In which mobile devices are you using the SD Card?
    mville,

    I transfer all recently ripped FLACs via my PC to the SD-card (as I go along). Then I predominantly use the SD-card in my Amazon Fire-Tablet (ie. my playback device) using 'VLC'. The Amazon Fire has only 16GB onboard storage.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by monsterjazzlick; 04-08-2018 at 09:38 AM. Reason: spelling

  15. #60
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,627

    Re: Corrupted files after Perfect Tunes scan

    Quote Originally Posted by monsterjazzlick View Post
    I transfer all recently ripped FLACs via my PC to the SD-card (as I go along). Then I predominantly use the SD-card in my Amazon Fire-Tablet (ie. my playback device) using 'VLC'. The Amazon Fire has only 16GB onboard storage.
    What OS is the Amazon Fire-Tablet?

    Do you plug the SD-Card into the PC, copy files to it and then plug into the Amazon Fire-Tablet?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •