title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: how do i convert wma files to mp3 files?

Unregistered

Unhappy how do i convert wma files to mp3 files?

Hey!

When I started to file my cds on the computer, I ripped them using Windows Media Player 9.0 (?!?)... I'm not really a computer pro,so I only noticed later, that all my music files are saved as WMA files instead of mp3. Does anybody know how to convert them into MP3s for free? What software do I need and which one works the best?
    Thanks
    e

dBpoweramp Guru

Re: how do i convert wma files to mp3 files?

dBPowerAmp works really really well, is free, and is easy to use. Just make sure you download the WMA codec from Codec Central.

Unregistered

Thumbs down Re: Windows/microsoft

Thanks a lot,that was great help!
    XwXiXnXdXoXwXsX

dBpoweramp Guru

and just have to hope none of them were wma protected when you ripped them...

dBpoweramp Guru

Actually, by default, they are protected..

dBpoweramp Guru

ok, well the answer in advance then is as far as i know there is no way to unprotect all those files.

Unregistered

Quote Originally Posted by Razgo
    ok, well the answer in advance then is as far as i know there is no way to unprotect all those files.
    If you dont' mind spend $30 bucks http://www.mediatwins.com/downloads.htm will allow to to convert wma's if they are dmr protected. As long as they are your legal songs!

Administrator

Have you tried it?, does it break the protection? (if so they better have good lawyers, Microsoft are a big company).

Paraguayita

Hi ! You seem to know about MP3's - I purchased songs from Napster and it turned out that they are all WMA with DRM (Protected Files) - Is there any easy way to convert these files into MP3 ???

Quote Originally Posted by Paraguayita