title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 65

Thread: Asset UPnP for Linux

  1. #16
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,978

    Re: Asset UPnP for Linux

    Update 6th December

    Fix so configuration will save
    Able to scan CIFS shares

  2. #17

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10

    Thumbs up Re: Asset UPnP for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by NumbRunaway View Post
    Thanks Spoon for you post.
    I tried to follow your instructions to install the x86 version on my QNAP TS-269L.(Intel Atom- Dual core) It installs but when I try to run Asset I get errors:

    [/usr/bin/asset/bin] * ./AssetUPnP
    ./AssetUPnP: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.15' not found (required by ./AssetUPnP)
    ./AssetUPnP: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.9' not found (required by ./AssetUPnP)
    ./AssetUPnP: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.7' not found (required by ./AssetUPnP)

    I take it I have some missing Libraries. Any thoughts on this?

    Thanks in advance..
    GREAT to read that there would be some possibility to run the Asset on Linux/QNAP's.

    Because I just received my new QNAP TS-870, I tried today the procedure, I do not get the first line but i do still get last two ones.
    My QNAP software is 4.0.5.

  3. #18

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    7

    Re: Asset UPnP for Linux

    I, too, have encountered the same problem as roburx69 in the above post on my new QNAP TS-269L. Is there a different link to the most recent build of Asset?

    Thanks for making a QNAP NAS version of Asset available.

  4. #19
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1,097

    Re: Asset UPnP for Linux

    Is your QNAP NAS running 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) Linux? I've looked at their product sheet but they're rather vague about the exact Linux version that they use.

    The 32-bit build of Asset has been made free of the problematic GLIBCXX dependency (as far as I am aware of) but the 64-bit one still has it. If your NAS is 64-bit, we will provide a corrected 64-bit build of Asset for you.
    Last edited by PeterP; 12-09-2013 at 04:41 AM.

  5. #20

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    7

    Re: Asset UPnP for Linux

    I called QNAP and they confirmed that the TS-269L is running on a 64-bit processor. If you can provide a corrected 64-bit build of Asset, I will give it a shot and report back.

  6. #21

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    7

    Re: Asset UPnP for Linux

    Another question, Linux as implemented in the TS-269L does not recognize the "sudo" command. Are there issues in running the implementation without using "sudo"?

  7. #22
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,978

    Re: Asset UPnP for Linux

    Should be no issues running without sudo.

  8. #23
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,978

    Re: Asset UPnP for Linux

    Update 11th December

    Fixed "rescan all" command not working on Linux
    Fixed a bug that prevented certain files from being indexed (all versions)
    Removed 64 bit version dependency on LIBC

  9. #24

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    7

    Re: Asset UPnP for Linux

    Thanks for the update, Spoon.

    If I install and run the 32-bit version of Asset, I get the following error messages:
    ./AssetUPnP: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.9' not found (required by ./AssetUPnP)
    ./AssetUPnP: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.7' not found (required by ./AssetUPnP)

    If I delete all files and install and run the 64-bit version of Asset, I get the following error message:
    error while loading shared libraries: libdl.so.2: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32

    Any further suggestions?

  10. #25

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10

    Re: Asset UPnP for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by phambro View Post
    Thanks for the update, Spoon.

    If I install and run the 32-bit version of Asset, I get the following error messages:
    ./AssetUPnP: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.9' not found (required by ./AssetUPnP)
    ./AssetUPnP: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.7' not found (required by ./AssetUPnP)

    If I delete all files and install and run the 64-bit version of Asset, I get the following error message:
    error while loading shared libraries: libdl.so.2: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32

    Any further suggestions?
    Hello,

    Same for me, for instance on QNAP 870. Software package : 4.0.5

    For better information, I have redone the thing from scratch and I wonder, I am not a linux specialist, if it is normal that the command rm *.gz returns nothing.
    Maybe the unpacking is not "complete".

    Here is my putty returns

    login as: admin
    admin@192.168.0.10's password:
    [~] * cd /usr/bin
    [/usr/bin] * mkdir asset
    [/usr/bin] * chmod 777 asset
    [/usr/bin] * cd asset
    [/usr/bin/asset] * wget http://www.dbpoweramp.com/beta/Asset-Linux-x64.tar.gz
    --2013-12-14 12:25:58-- http://www.dbpoweramp.com/beta/Asset-Linux-x64.tar.gz
    Resolving www.dbpoweramp.com... 89.238.133.247
    Connecting to www.dbpoweramp.com|89.238.133.247|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 4469671 (4.3M) [application/x-gzip]
    Saving to: `Asset-Linux-x64.tar.gz'

    100%[======================================>] 4,469,671 1.71M/s in 2.5s

    2013-12-14 12:26:00 (1.71 MB/s) - `Asset-Linux-x64.tar.gz' saved [4469671/446967 1]

    [/usr/bin/asset] *
    [/usr/bin/asset] * tar -zxvf *.gz
    bin/
    bin/asset.css
    bin/asset-48x48.jpg
    bin/asset-120x120.jpg
    bin/Versions/
    bin/Versions/Asset-UPnP.txt
    bin/decoder/
    bin/decoder/m4a.so
    bin/decoder/Musepack.so
    bin/decoder/mp3-mpeg123.so
    bin/decoder/Opus.so
    bin/decoder/Ogg.so
    bin/decoder/AIFF.so
    bin/decoder/Wavpack.so
    bin/decoder/FLAC.so
    bin/decoder/Wave.so
    bin/AssetUPnP
    bin/asset-120x120.png
    bin/encoder/
    bin/encoder/mp3 (Lame).so
    bin/encoder/lame
    bin/asset-48x48.png
    [/usr/bin/asset] * rm *.gz
    [/usr/bin/asset] * cd /usr/bin/asset/bin
    [/usr/bin/asset/bin] * ./AssetUPnP
    ./AssetUPnP: error while loading shared libraries: libdl.so.2: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32
    [/usr/bin/asset/bin] *

  11. #26

    Re: Asset UPnP for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by phambro View Post
    Thanks for the update, Spoon.

    If I install and run the 32-bit version of Asset, I get the following error messages:
    ./AssetUPnP: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.9' not found (required by ./AssetUPnP)
    ./AssetUPnP: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.7' not found (required by ./AssetUPnP)

    If I delete all files and install and run the 64-bit version of Asset, I get the following error message:
    error while loading shared libraries: libdl.so.2: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32

    Any further suggestions?
    Hello Again.

    +1 on the above on my Qnap TS-269L

    Thanks Spoon and PeterP for your efforts so far , it Is much appreciated however!

  12. #27
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,978

    Re: Asset UPnP for Linux

    We are slowly getting to the bottom of this.

  13. #28

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1

    Re: Asset UPnP for Linux

    Hi,
    first: thanks for making this available, it runs fine on my Scientific Linux 6.4 server (which is basically a RHEL Clone like CentOs), however scanning ~84k songs takes some time :-), but it feeds my Naim Uniti pretty well so far.

    I tried to not run this as root, so I created a assetupnp user and shifted the files into /opt/asset and run the upnp server from there as user 'assetupnp', which does fine so far, however the logfile links from the configure website stay empty.. but I think I can live with that. Oh, and I made a very basic init-script and created a service with chkconfig for that too, so it will start automatically when rebooting the next time. But I guess those things will come in the final release anyway

    I just wonder if this somehow expires after 30 days then and if and how I can prevent it from doing this, as I can only see Windows Version to be purchased..

    Regards,
    Ralf
    Last edited by rst1; 12-28-2013 at 07:55 AM. Reason: typo

  14. #29
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,978

    Re: Asset UPnP for Linux

    When it expires certain advanced functionality will be removed. There is currently no way to prevent it other than wait for the full release (I hope will be February).

  15. #30

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    24

    Re: Asset UPnP for Linux

    Hello Spoon,

    Many thanks from me also for the work done on AssetUPnP for Linux. I have it running quite well on my unRAID server (unRAID v5.0.4 - Slackware 13.1 based).

    Getting Asset running was straightforward, although I have a couple of questions / possible requests....

    1) By default, AssetUPnP stores it's database and settings in a directory whch under unRAID happens to be located in the RAM filing system. This means that settings and the scanned database are lost after a restart. By using a symlink in my start-up script I was able to store the settings and database in a directory that I have specified which is located on a physical hard drive. In my case that is a folder on my unRAID cache drive, but I guess it could be pretty much anywhere. This works, and the settings and database survive restarts, even remembering how many days I have remaining for the "trial". But I wonder, is there a mechanism to allow the folder for the settings and data to be specified directly (perhaps from a switch or two in the command line)? This would make usage somewhat simpler in cases like this were the data and settings are otherwise only temporarily stored.

    2) AssetUPnP seems to regularly scan the specified audio folders and files for new or modified content. That's a great feature, except that it wakes up my hard drives when I really would rather they were left idle. Is there a way to optionally inhibit the automatic scanning, or alternatively to change the frequency of the scan?

    Apart from these two issues, I am so far very impressed. Clients have included Roku SoundBridge (playing AAC and ALAC natively, and FLAC transcoded to WAV / LPCM), Frontier Silicon based streamers such as the Roberts Stream 83i (playing AAC and FLAC natively with ALAC trancoded) as well as Android and iOS apps such as PlugPlayer, Skifta, etc.

    Cheers,

    Les.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •