title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 33

Thread: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

  1. #16
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,505

    Re: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Keironbrown View Post
    Maybe a lot of detailed experimentation may throw something up. but as garym says, this should work. And life may be too short!
    I would persevere as this problem may impact further down the line and cause you more grief.

    If you can be bothered try as Spoon suggested:

    1. Uninstall dBpweramp Music Converter.
    2. Reboot.
    3. Install dBpweramp Music Converter.
    4. Reboot.

    Then, just to confirm something, right click your folder. From the dropown menu, do you see dBpoweramp Batch Converter option, can you select it and does the dBpweramp Batch Converter window open?

    (FYI. This is a Batch Converter issue and not a Batch Ripper issue).
    Last edited by mville; 09-19-2013 at 06:50 AM. Reason: Confirmation

  2. #17

    Re: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

    Well, I've ensured that batch update is allowed by Norton, I've re-booted, but to no avail.

    So -

    1. Regardless of the file type (mp3, flac, wma), where it is held (Home C: drive or other) and what it is, when selected in Batch Converter and 'Convert' clicked, nothing happens.
    2. All of these files convert successfully when the Music Converter is used in Non-batch mode.
    3. There appears to be nothing odd about my PC configuration.

    It seems to me that a component is missing or something is preventing it from loading when called. Batch converter is making a call to another routine, but is either not finding it or is prevented from calling it.

    The answer to my problem is either incredibly simple, or very complicated!

    Does this list look complete and OK?


    Directory of C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\dBpoweramp

    19/09/2013 09:58 <DIR> .
    19/09/2013 09:58 <DIR> ..
    19/09/2013 09:58 212,992 AccurateRip.dll
    19/09/2013 09:58 4,022 AMG.bmp
    15/09/2013 15:16 1,560,576 Asset-uPNP.exe
    15/09/2013 15:16 77,824 Asset-UPnPService.exe
    15/09/2013 15:16 578 Asset-UPnPService.ini
    16/09/2013 10:33 2,826 Asset-UPnPService.log
    15/09/2013 15:16 351,304 AssetConfig.exe
    15/09/2013 15:16 91,587 AssetReg.bin
    15/09/2013 15:16 65,536 AssetRemoveStartItems.exe
    19/09/2013 09:58 2,399,744 CDGrab.exe
    19/09/2013 09:58 246,272 CoreConverter.exe
    19/09/2013 09:58 516,168 dBConfig.exe
    19/09/2013 09:58 195,144 dBPropertyHandler.dll
    19/09/2013 09:58 217,160 dBShell.dll
    19/09/2013 09:58 153,160 dBThumbnailProvider.dll
    19/09/2013 09:58 <DIR> decoder
    19/09/2013 09:58 542,208 DMCFileSelector.exe
    19/09/2013 09:58 549,376 dMCScripting.dll
    19/09/2013 09:58 1,161,216 dMCShell.dll
    19/09/2013 09:58 966 dMCSmartInstall.txt
    19/09/2013 09:58 <DIR> DSPs
    19/09/2013 10:07 <DIR> encoder
    19/09/2013 09:58 155,648 GetPopupInfo.exe
    19/09/2013 09:58 64,382 hdcd.exe
    19/09/2013 09:58 <DIR> Help
    19/09/2013 09:58 723,968 MusicConverter.exe
    19/09/2013 09:58 61,440 PowerPack.bin
    19/09/2013 09:58 4,022 PowerPack.bmp
    19/09/2013 09:58 93,170 Reference.bin
    19/09/2013 09:58 4,150 Reference.bmp
    15/09/2013 15:16 500,224 uMediaLibrary-dumpdb.exe
    15/09/2013 15:16 74,752 uMediaLibrary-ReadTags.exe
    15/09/2013 15:16 961,536 uMediaLibrary.exe
    19/09/2013 09:58 <DIR> Versions
    19/09/2013 09:58 57,344 WindowsXPRemovePropHandler.exe
    30 File(s) 11,049,295 bytes
    7 Dir(s) 283,125,608,448 bytes free


    I am about to retreat to NCH Switch Sound File Converter.:cry:

  3. #18
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,505

    Re: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

    When in Batch Converter, what happens if you click the List button instead of the Convert button?

  4. #19

    Re: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

    mville.

    Your second question first. If I click the List button, then I get the list of files. If I click the Convert button at the foot of that screen. Zilch. If I highlight and select the files and then click Convert, Again Zilch.

    I did the whole uninstall, reboot, install(from download), re-boot routine again.

    Right hand click on the folder brings up Batch Converter OK, but when I click convert, same thing happens (i.e. nothing happens).

    Everything else is the same though.

    Thanks to all of you for your assistance, but my life is too short to spend anymore time on this. It will remain a problem that will not be solved. I will continue to use the CD ripper and the converter when I have one or two folders to handle, but the Batch Conversion is consigned to oblivion.

    I will now convert all my .wmas with Switch.

    Keiron.

  5. #20
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,505

    Re: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

    Just to finish off here, it looks like dBpoweramp is installed OK and on their own, Batch Converter and Music Converter work OK.

    However, something is stopping Batch Converter from calling Music Converter (normally antivirus/security software).

    Anyway, good luck with the Switch Sound File Converter software.

  6. #21
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,220

    Re: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

    Quote Originally Posted by mville View Post
    However, something is stopping Batch Converter from calling Music Converter (normally antivirus/security software).
    Yes, and norton is frequently a culprit on many programs.

  7. #22
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,382

    Re: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

    BatchConverter (dmcfileselector.exe) calls Music Converter (MusicConverter.exe), with the list of files to convert, it is so simple it cannot fail (and has not failed in the last 10 years...).

    As a test disable your security software.

  8. #23

    Re: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

    Thanks to you guys for your persistence . . .

    I've disabled Virus Protect and Smart Firewall, and turned off network protection. No diff.

    Norton found no fault with the software and validated the software as good and reliable when I downloaded it.

    I appreciate that this is a puzzle - it is to me. As I said previously, I've always found illustrate software excellent.

    I had an older version of Music Converter before I purchased and downloaded R14.4. Is it possible the installation hadn't cleaned something up properly?

  9. #24
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,220

    Re: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Keironbrown View Post
    Thanks to you guys for your persistence . . .

    I've disabled Virus Protect and Smart Firewall, and turned off network protection. No diff.
    Norton found no fault with the software and validated the software as good and reliable when I downloaded it.
    ?
    Norton found no fault with the downloaded install program. That's different from norton allowing the installed programs to run properly. And in other contexts, I've seen that disabling norton didn't solve issue. Norton had to be actually uninstalled to test. (Sometimes norton seems to be just as much a menace as the viruses it is supposed to protect from).

    This sounds more and more like a firewall type problem. And you are maybe using 3 firewalls at same time: router, windows, and norton. I'd use windows firewall or norton, but not both at same time. Personally, I'd choose the windows firewall.

  10. #25

    Re: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

    Thanks again.

    Windows firewall is not running, and if I disconnect form the router then the Batch converter still doesn't work.

    There is obviously something peculiar about my PC and its configuration and/or the other concurrent services it is running. I agree that Norton is the most likely culprit.

    However, I am now falling victim to the law of diminishing returns. I have never had any problems with Norton (maybe I'm lucky) and un-installing it to see if one program will work seems a bit like the tail wagging the dog. And now that Switch has converted almost 90% of my wma files to flac anyway, the problem is becoming a bit academic as far as I am concerned. My real problem was batch conversion of wma to flac; that has been solved, albeit not in the way I would have preferred, but in a way that works.

    Maybe I'll return to this when I have more time and leisure, but in the meantime I'd like to start streaming lossless files to my hi-fi and stop worrying about the config of my PC.

    I have no beef against dbpoweramp; the Batch Conversion facility obviously works well, but just not for me.

    I really appreciate all your efforts; thank you.

  11. #26
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,220

    Re: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

    Fully understand. But do keep in mind that our responses are to help you, and importantly, help others who might stumble on this thread in the future. 99% of my computer problems are solved by simply seeing a forum thread for someone with a similar problem that a google search uncovers. Regards.

  12. #27

    Re: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

    Understand garym. Thanks.

  13. #28

    Re: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

    Hi, guys. me again.

    Well, I completely uninstalled Norton and re-booted.

    Tried Batch Converter - still didn't work - exactly the same as before. Re-installed converter software - still didn't work, exactly the same as before.

    So. It doesn't seem to be Norton.

    I ran a registry check using CCleaner, and it came up with an error "Access Path Issues" for one of the dbpoweramp reg entries. Unfortunately, I was so keen to fix the problem, that I stupidly clicked 'fix' before drilling down any further and getting more details. Now, that was daft. Sorry.

    So, 2 steps forward, 1 back.

    I'll keep investigating and see if I can replicate the registry wobbly.

  14. #29

    Re: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

    Hi,

    You will all be delighted that batch converter now works for me.

    Earlier in the thread I suggested that as I was upgrading from a previous version of Music Converter, maybe that the un-install/re-install process doesn't clean up properly. Well, it doesn't.

    I un-installed Music Converter. Then I used CCleaner to check on rogue registry entries. Sure enough, they showed the following:


    ActiveX/COM Issue InProcServer32\C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\dBpoweramp\dMCScripting.dll HKCR\CLSID\{183E63EA-0D05-4CF8-A309-BE6071845CA9}
    ActiveX/COM Issue InProcServer32\C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\dBpoweramp\dMCScripting.dll HKCR\CLSID\{1C2E0932-61B5-4EAB-A832-06EE6564047D}
    ActiveX/COM Issue InProcServer32\C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\dBpoweramp\dMCScripting.dll HKCR\CLSID\{9E7A0D15-C53E-4564-8D06-93F3300F46AF}
    ActiveX/COM Issue InProcServer32\C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\dBpoweramp\dMCScripting.dll HKCR\CLSID\{A9FF1B87-DC1A-41D5-9AD9-C686AE9DA75A}
    ActiveX/COM Issue InProcServer32\C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\dBpoweramp\dMCScripting.dll HKCR\CLSID\{C1175DFD-4BB0-44EA-8F9D-ECE60F4649E2}
    Application Paths Issue C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\dBpoweramp\MusicConverter.exe HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers
    Application Paths Issue C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\dBpoweramp\DMCFileSelector.exe HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers
    Application Paths Issue C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\dBpoweramp\DMCFileSelector.exe HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Compatibility Assistant\Persisted
    Missing MUI Reference C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\dBpoweramp\MusicConverter.exe HKCU\Software\Classes\Local Settings\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Shell\MuiCache
    Missing MUI Reference C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\dBpoweramp\CDGrab.exe HKCU\Software\Classes\Local Settings\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Shell\MuiCache
    Missing MUI Reference C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\dBpoweramp\DMCFileSelector.exe HKCU\Software\Classes\Local Settings\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Shell\MuiCache

    I then deleted all of these and re-installed Music Converter.

    Result - Batch Converter now works fine.

    I suggest the processes that deal with installation need to be looked at, so that they leave a clean registry.

    I think there is a serious lesson in this for all of us . . . .

    I think this thread can now be closed.

  15. #30
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,382

    Re: Batch Ripper - newbie questions

    MuiCache is not important, it is just the shown Name Windows gives to an application.
    dMCScripting is not used for batch converting, only for external scripting.
    AppCompatFlags this is set when the user changes the compatibility of a program (such as to run as Windows XP) potentially this one could affect the running of dBpowermap.

    The installtion routines should not access any of these, as they are controlled by the operating system.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •