title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 24 of 24

Thread: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

  1. #16

    Re: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

    Thanks for your quick answer Spoon!
    One more question: the error in the DSP 9 doesn't alter the level volume in audio data?

  2. #17

    Re: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

    Thanks for your quick answer Spoon!
    One more question: the error in the DSP 9 doesn't alter the level volume in audio data?

  3. #18
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,892

    Re: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

    No, it is tag only, unless you use the DSP effect 'Volume Normalize'

  4. #19

    Re: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

    Thanks again Spoon!

  5. #20

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    36

    Re: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    FLAC is lossless, visit codec central and install the [Replay Gain] utility codec, then use Batch Converter, select all your music and set the encoder to [Replay Gain] this will just recalculate the gain and write to the tags.

    I just upgraded to R15.1. Do I understand correctly that it is advisable to use the batch converter to redo all my replaygain tags? If so, when I convert from Flac to Flac, does dbpoweramp do anything other than simply copy new replaygain metadata into the old file? Should I have any concerns about corrupting my original files?

    Thanks.

  6. #21
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,892

    Re: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

    To update the replaygain efficiently, install the [ReplayGain] utility codec (from Codec Central) and convert all the FLAC files to this, the values are recalculated and files are tagged.

  7. #22

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    12

    Re: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

    Given that foobar2000 and dBpoweramp use different units for setting the replaygain value, how do you know that the setting in one application will be equivalent to the setting in another? Foobar2000 uses a default target volume level of 89 dB, whereas dbpa uses a default setting of -18 LUFS. How do these units compare and how do you know you are effectively getting the same result since both are using EBU R128?

    Is -18 LUFS still considered the defacto standard or has -23 taken over? I'm going to rescan my whole library soon and was looking for a recommendation. Thanks.

  8. #23
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,348

    Re: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

    Quote Originally Posted by DrForce View Post
    Given that foobar2000 and dBpoweramp use different units for setting the replaygain value, how do you know that the setting in one application will be equivalent to the setting in another? Foobar2000 uses a default target volume level of 89 dB, whereas dbpa uses a default setting of -18 LUFS. How do these units compare and how do you know you are effectively getting the same result since both are using EBU R128?

    Is -18 LUFS still considered the defacto standard or has -23 taken over? I'm going to rescan my whole library soon and was looking for a recommendation. Thanks.
    foobar RG now uses R128 approach with -18LUFS. DBPA also uses R128 approach. It used to default to -23 LUFS; not sure now. But you can set. I set dbpa to use -18LUFS. This way I can use either foobar2000 or dbpa to create RG tags and they match up.

  9. #24
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    386

    Re: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

    I don't remember changing the dBpa default RG setting when I started ripping in late 2014, and it's -18LUFS.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •