title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    3

    Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

    Why are the replay gain values different in dbPoweramp and foobar? I ripped a cd using dbPoweramp cd ripper and used the DSP effect, replay gain. I also ripped the cd without the DSP replay gain and then used foobar to add the replay gain tag values. Below are my results. I'm curious has to why the values are different.

    dbPoweramp - replay gain
    https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B4tJ...it?usp=sharing


    Foobar - replay gain
    https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B4tJ...it?usp=sharing

    Sorry for the links to the images but I can't seem to figure out how to post the image.

    Thank you!
    Last edited by Guinness; 03-17-2013 at 09:33 PM.

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    937

    Re: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

    Perhaps foobar switched to the ebu r128 calculation? You should use is method as a way forward in dbpoweramp as the results are more accurate.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    3

    Re: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

    ********* - thank you for the reply.

    I just want to make sure I understand your reply. Are you saying to use dbpoweramp's RG as they are more accurate than the way foobar calculates RG?

    One more question. This is how I'm applying replay gain. First I'll rip the cd to flac using dbpoweramp without the replay gain DSP. Then I'll use dbpoweramp batch converter and convert flac to flac and apply the replay gain that way. Does this method work. For example, if I apply replay gain while ripping the cd and some tracks have errors (inaccurate rips) then I want to go back and re-rip to see if I can get an accurate result. If I get an accurate result then my replay gain album values will be different on those re-ripped tracks. Therefore, I would like to rip all tracks first and once I have all accurate rips I can then apply replay gain using batch converter.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,389

    Re: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

    I meant that EBU R128 is more accurate than the older replaygain.

    I would use RG whilst ripping and for those discs where you re-rip, only then convert FLAC >> FLAC to recalculate.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    3

    Re: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

    Spoon - I'm a novice with replay gain so are you saying dBpoweramp uses EBU R128? If so, then when I add the replay gain DSP it is the EBU R128?

    Also, I did some digging and read on the foobar's changelog that they use libebur128. I have no clue, libebur128 and EBU r128 are probably one in the same?

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,389

    Re: Replay Gain - dbPoweramp vs. Foobar

    They are the same.

    dBpoweramp has a checkbox to enable EBUR128 on the replaygain page (if you have R14.4)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •