title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Thread: cd collection - FLAC and ALAC

Question cd collection - FLAC and ALAC

Hi, apologies if this has been posted before or if it is so daft that it has never needed to be posted !
    I have a collection of 300 CDs which I wish to play on an ipod using iTunes. I also wish to keep the collection 'backed up' in another nonApple lossless format for potential other/future use.
    Is the best format for the ipod ALAC ?
    Is the best format FLAC for nonApple use ?
    Can I use dbpoweramp to simultaneously rip to both formats ?
    Please bear in mind that I am new to ripping AND Apple products. Am I going about this the right way ?
    Thanks in advance for any help offered.

dBpoweramp Guru

Re: cd collection - FLAC and ALAC

FLAC seems to be the lossless codec of choice. I'm about 1/2 way through ripping 10,000 CDs to FLAC. Many players can use FLAC (I use squeezeboxes at home and foobar2000 as my PC based player). I also use ipods/iphones/ipads. For these items, I really consider them "portable" devices and consequently don't feel the need to have lossless files stored on them. I use instead mp3 files. I simply keep a library of FLAC files (for use at home with my main system) and a separate library of lossy files (mp3) for use on my iThings.

I don't see any benefit in using lossless files (ALAC) on my portable iThings. On the other hand, if the ipod/itunes is your only playback source, then you'll need a lossless file that itunes can play. In that case, you'll likely want to rip to ALAC. But if so, why bother with FLAC. ALAC is lossless and can be converted to FLAC (or any other codec) losslessly anytime in the future that you so desire.