title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

NOTE: Any posts to this forum on or after 16th April will disappear in few days when we transition to a new forum

Thread: Naming scheme: How to add artist only in compilation albums?

Naming scheme: How to add artist only in compilation albums?

I am a beginner with dbpoweramp and naming schemes. I want to keep the naming scheme pretty simple. For compilation albums I fill in the Album Artist box with some variation of "Various Artists', e.g. if the album is jazz, the entry for Album Artist will be "Various Artists - Jazz". For non-compilation albums I prefer to not include the artist name in the naming scheme. However, I do want to include the artist name in the naming scheme of compilation albums. Here are the naming schemes I am now using:

For non-compilation albums: [album artist]\[album]\[track]-[title]

For compilation albums: [album artist]\[album]\[track]-[artist]-[title]

I think that one should be able to use one naming scheme that will add the artist name to compilation albums only and that this is accomplished by using [IFCOMP] in some way. However, I have tried doing this and so far have not been able to make it work. Is anyone able to tell me how to do this? I will appreciate any help or advice you can give me.

Administrator

Re: Naming scheme: How to add artist only in compilation albums?

[IFCOMP][album artist]\[album]\[track]-[artist]-[title][][IF!COMP][album artist]\[album]\[track]-[title][]

dBpoweramp Enthusiast

Re: Naming scheme: How to add artist only in compilation albums?

I would advice against it though - if a single music file (from a non-compilation ) is moved (or copied to a friend) you (or your friend) will have no idea who the artist is when you look at the file 2 weeks later.