title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: RipNAS Solid Optical Drive

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6

    Question RipNAS Solid Optical Drive

    Hi Spoon
    I have a brandnew RipNAS Solid and have started playing around with it and ripping CD's. The only CD I could rip in secure mode without errors was a brandnew one. All other CD's I have tried (5 different ones which still look very good without scratches) all had errors in some tracks, mostly the first or second track.
    Now I have seen in the device manager that there is a TEAC DV-518GS installed. I thought there are Teac 5000 industrial drives installed in the RipNAS Solid ? Could that be the reason for the bad ripping results ? What can I do to improve ?
    Kind regards, Markus

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,024

    Re: RipNAS Solid Optical Drive

    >Teac 5000 industrial drives

    I personally tested these drives and discounted their use because they gave more errors than the 518.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6

    Re: RipNAS Solid Optical Drive

    Dear Spoon
    thank you for the fast reply. I'm a bit concerned about the quality as this drive retails for only 18 Euros. The Teac DV-W5000S drive retails for 82 Euros. One of the reasons why I went for the Solid was the quality of the optical drive, as I heard of a lot of problems with the Teac Slot-in's.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,024

    Re: RipNAS Solid Optical Drive

    Cost does not equal quality. The all time best drive for ripping through errors (a Plextor 230A retailed for around $30 back in its day, it was 5x cheaper than premium models).

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6

    Re: RipNAS Solid Optical Drive

    If I wanted to change the drive do I have to re-configure the rip software ? Where can I find these settings and which parameters would I have to change to adapt to another drive ?

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,024

    Re: RipNAS Solid Optical Drive

    It is not possible to change the drive and retain the ability to secure rip, as it is all preconfigured (c2, ripping offsets, etc)

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6

    Re: RipNAS Solid Optical Drive

    But at least I can buy now a spare TEAC DV-518GS and replace the built-in drive if it should break and the warranty period is over ? Or are the settings not only matched per drive type but customized per built-in drive ? Is the firmware version also important ?

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,024

    Re: RipNAS Solid Optical Drive

    A spare 518 should be ok, although Teac have been known to change the firmware which changes how the drive is reported.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6

    Re: RipNAS Solid Optical Drive

    In this case I would have to change a config file entry or a registry entry ? And if yes where would I have to do that ?

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,024

    Re: RipNAS Solid Optical Drive

    If the drive did not match it would not be possible to configure for secure ripping. Your dealer will always be able to supply a drive which functions for RipNAS.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •