title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Secure vs. Accurate CRC red

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7

    Secure vs. Accurate CRC red

    Hi all,

    I just ripped a CD in secure mode and got no errors.

    I then enabled AccurateRip, and re-ripped the CD (without cleaning it or anything), and once again got no errors--Accurate (4). But, all of the CRC's were red.

    Does enabling AccurateRip somehow change how the checksum is processed or compared? I see no reason why the the first rip would be inaccurate, especially since the CD was in the same condition as during the second rip, and DMC marked it as secure.

    Thanks for the help.

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,176

    Re: Secure vs. Accurate CRC red

    A secure rip does not guarantee an accuraterip. The rips are different, and the second one is correct.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7

    Re: Secure vs. Accurate CRC red

    I don't understand how this could be the case. Why would every track be incorrect in a previous so-called "secure" rip when the CD was in exactly the same condition as it was during the "correct" accurate rip?

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,476

    Re: Secure vs. Accurate CRC red

    If the CRCs change then you can be sure that something was wrong, the tracks are not the same each time. It is likely the drive ripped with a wrong offset, which is a fault of the drive (you should never see this).

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7

    Re: Secure vs. Accurate CRC red

    Would having AccurateRip activated cause the rips to be the same each time? After setting up AccurateRip, I ripped the CD a few times just in case, and got the same result each time (accurate (4)).

    Seems strange that the rips are all identical following AccurateRip's installation, and completely erroneous prior.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7

    Re: Secure vs. Accurate CRC red

    Update: I have tried ripping a few more CDs in AccurateRip mode that I had previously ripped in secure mode. All of them come out accurate, but with red CRC's once again. Is it really the case that all of my secure rips are faulty, and when AccurateRip is enabled, they all rip perfectly (same drive, CDs in same condition)?

    Please help. Thanks again.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,476

    Re: Secure vs. Accurate CRC red

    If the CRCs are different and AccurateRip verifies youc an be sure there was previously an error.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7

    Re: Secure vs. Accurate CRC red

    Ok, is there any reason why this may be the case? Does AccurateRip somehow guide the ripping process and mold each rip into the correct parameters? If not, it seems a huge coincidence that whenever it's enabled, my drive is independently able to rip CDs correctly, and always seems to screw up whenever it's disabled.

    Thank you

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,476

    Re: Secure vs. Accurate CRC red

    It does not, but once AccurateRip is enabled discs will be ripped with a new offset, so this would give a different CRC

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7

    Re: Secure vs. Accurate CRC red

    Ah, so does this mean that the CRC would be red no matter what following a switch from secure mode to AccurateRip? If the offset changes with accuraterip enabled, I should expect a red CRC, correct?

    Thanks

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,476

    Re: Secure vs. Accurate CRC red

    Yes

  12. #12
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    323

    Re: Secure vs. Accurate CRC red

    all that red means is that the crc is different from the last rip

    if you rip a 3rd time, it should match the 2nd rip and be green again.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    29

    Re: Secure vs. Accurate CRC red

    Does this imply that if a CD isn't in AccurateRip, thus Secure Rip is being used, that the offests might be off and the CRCs inaccurate if the CD makes it into the AccurateRip database one day?

    (And something else I've always wondered - how does a CD make it into the AccurateRip database?)

  14. #14
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,176

    Re: Secure vs. Accurate CRC red

    No, once accuraterip is configured, your drives offset is also configured and used on discs not currently in AR.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •