title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 35

Thread: RipNAS stopped ripping

  1. #16

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    16

    Re: RipNAS stopped ripping

    I am currently using WHS v1

  2. #17
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,922

    Re: RipNAS stopped ripping

    Look in the services there should be 'dbpowerampripnas' set to started and Automatic.

  3. #18

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    16

    Re: RipNAS stopped ripping

    Thank you, Spoon, yes it is. It is started and automatic. However, when I insert the CD it stays "idle".

  4. #19

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    16

    Re: RipNAS stopped ripping

    I have double-checked:

    - dbpowerampripnas is started as a service. No other ripnas services are started (or even to be found). No ripnas items in the taskmanager.

    - CD ejects, when using the eject button from RipNas on the WHS console

    - I can rip CDs with the dbpoweramp CD Ripper when using remotedesktop on the server

    - I have uninstalled ripnas, rebooted, installed again, rebooted

    - Using WHS v1 with SP2 on a Acer Aspire Homeserver

    - Using an extern USB CD Player/Writer, BENQ 2410 MR

    I am a little bit lost ...

  5. #20
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,922

    Re: RipNAS stopped ripping

    >- CD ejects, when using the eject button from RipNas on the WHS console

    This indicates that Batch Ripper is running in the background correctly and the system should rip. Do you have any other ripping software installed, such as my movies?

  6. #21

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    16

    Re: RipNAS stopped ripping

    No, I don't. The server is quite clean. There is just Firefly Media Server and Bonjour under Programms. I have the following WHS AddIns:

    Fireplay
    WHS PHP
    WHS Phone
    WHS Mobile
    Advanced Admin Console
    Whiist
    Duplication Info
    WHS File Manager
    WebFolders

    Is there any setting for the CD-ROM that I could change? Should Windows Media Player start automatically when I insert a CD?

    *edit* Windows Media Player 10.00.00.4008 is installed

    Regards,
    smack2211
    Last edited by smack2211; 09-14-2011 at 10:14 AM.

  7. #22

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    16

    Re: RipNAS stopped ripping

    Ah, well, one addition. I have noticed that the WHS console crashes whenever I click on the "view log" button.

  8. #23
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,922

    Re: RipNAS stopped ripping

    It could be WMP is automatically grabbing the CD drive. That is what it sounds like to me.

  9. #24

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    16

    Re: RipNAS stopped ripping

    I have found out, that with the Windows update http://support.microsoft.com/kb/971029 the autoplay service has deen deactivated for USB devices. Could this be an issue? Should I try to uninstall this update?

    *edit* Autorip is deactivated in WMP
    Last edited by smack2211; 09-14-2011 at 10:53 AM.

  10. #25

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    16

    Re: RipNAS stopped ripping

    I have uninstalled the patch now. However no ripping. Weird. I can't see that WMP is grabbing the CD-Drive. Every auto-funtion in WMP is deactivated. How should the CD-Drive be configured? With autoplay?

    Best,
    smack2211

  11. #26
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,922

    Re: RipNAS stopped ripping

    Batch Ripper is running in the background, it is able to communicate with the CD drive (as demonstrated by the eject button, as it is batch ripper which is ejecting), but for some reason batch ripper is not detecting there is a disc inserted in the drive.

    Do you have a different CD drive you could try on the system?

  12. #27

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    16

    Re: RipNAS stopped ripping

    No, unfortunately I don't have another drive. I will see if I can borrow one somewhere ...

  13. #28

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    16

    Re: RipNAS stopped ripping

    I just received a Samsung SE-S084D. Will try if it works and report.

  14. #29

    Re: RipNAS stopped ripping

    I fitted a new cd drive in a friends ripnas machine. After rebooting the windows 2003 consul does not recognise the cd (although windows explorer does) Can you advise what your solution to this was?

  15. #30

    Re: RipNAS stopped ripping

    I fitted a new cd drive in a friends ripnas machine. After rebooting the windows 2003 consul does not recognise the cd (although windows explorer does) Can you advise what your solution to this was?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •