title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35

Thread: Multiple Genre

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7

    Multiple Genre

    I use multiple Genre. MediaMonkey (my music manager software) separates the genres with the semicolon ( ; ). If i give multiple genres to songs like Pop and Blues; then they are shown separate in the Filter Pane "genre" column. (one in Pop an one Blues).

    But in the Asset genre list, a new genre is created: "pop; blues"
    The song appears neither in pop nor in blues - only in the new genre "pop; blues"

    How can i use more genres in one song?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,474

    Re: Multiple Genre

    For which audio type?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7

    Re: Multiple Genre

    mp3 with id3 v2.3 Tags

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,474

    Re: Multiple Genre

    For ID3v2 internally the multiple artists should be separated as:

    Artist1/Artist2

    if it is Artist1; Artist2 then MediaMonkey is just creating its own way of doing it.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7

    Re: Multiple Genre

    Multiple Artist works fine - my problem ist the multiple Genre!
    I have taken a look at a mp3 File with a HEX-Editor.
    The Artists are separated with the "/" , but the Genre are separated with the ";"

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,474

    Re: Multiple Genre

    This is a problem with MediaMonkey then.

  7. #7

    Multiple Genre

    How do ya send the same PM to multiple recipients? Separate usernames with a comma?

  8. #8

    Re: Multiple Genre

    The ID3V2.4 standard specifies "All text information frames support multiple strings, stored as a null separated list..."

    From my testing (with mp3 files), Mediamonkey is:

    1. saving artist "AC/DC" as artist "AC/DC" in the tag. Asset is interpreting that as two separate artists. Asset appears to be in error in this case.

    2. saving genre "rock; r&b" as "rock; r&b" in the tag. Asset is interpreting that as one genre. Mediamonkey appears to be in error in this case.

    Other MP3 tag editors that I have tested (e.g. mp3tag and foobar2000) do save multiple string frames as a null separated list. These tags are not interpreted by Asset Upnp as containing multiple string frames.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,474

    Re: Multiple Genre

    Asset will not read id3v2.4, for v2.3 the standard is to use '/' to separate.

  10. #10

    Re: Multiple Genre

    OK, I'm stumped.

    Tried using MP3nity, Tagscanner, MP3Tag, and MPTagThat to write ID3V2.3 tags. Within each application, I tried entering a hard "/", and where I could find it, using the application's method (e.g. MP3Tag uses "\\" to separate genres in the editing dialog box but puts a "/" in the tag itself). Can't get multiple genres out of Asset.

    I am missing something? Have you used any of the above taggers with success in this use case? Can you recommend a tagger that can make use of this Asset feature?

    Thanks, really like your app!

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,474

    Re: Multiple Genre

    The tag editors might allow the entry of multiples seperated by ';' just for user interaction, if you right click on a file >> Edit ID Tag (dBpoweramp offers this on the right click) then set genre to:

    Genre1; Genre2

    Asset will read both.

  12. #12

    Re: Multiple Genre

    I really appreciate your quick response, I know you must be busy.

    I tried setting the tags with dbpoweramp (right clicking 'Edit ID Tag", etc.). Still didn't work. I tried separating the genre field with ";", "; " and "/".

    My setup is Asset UPnp server, with WDTV Live Plus and/or Foobar as renderers.


    Minor peculiarity I noticed:

    In dbpoweramp configuration dialog, where you choose to have items listed in IE context menus, if I uncheck the 'Convert to' box and check the 'Edit ID Tag' box, the 'Edit ID Tag" option disappears from the IE context menu. I have to check both boxes in order to get 'Edit ID Tag' to show up in the IE context menu.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,474

    Re: Multiple Genre

    If you save the multiple genres with dBpoweramp tag editor (Genre1; Genre2) then make sure asset has updated with Refresh (Detecting Changes) in Asset Configuration.

    After this run to:

    C:\Program Files\Illustrate\dBpoweramp\uMediaLibrary-dumpdb.exe

    save the file and load into Excel (or equivalent), then look at the file in question, see what it says for genre.

  14. #14

    Re: Multiple Genre

    Spoon,

    Nothing shows up but an empty UMLnn.tmp.txt file. Do I need to run a different command as I'm running Asset UPnP on a WHS box? I know Asset is running because the updated mp3 shows up on my renderers, sadly under one genre still....

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,474

    Re: Multiple Genre

    Install Asset on your PC, then copy the folder (on the ripnas)

    C:\Documents and Settings\Default User\Application Data\dBpoweramp\uMediaLibrary

    to %appdata%\dBpoweramp\uMediaLibrary

    on the PC then run the dump db from the PC.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •