title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can't play FLAC files on WMP12

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6

    Can't play FLAC files on WMP12

    Hi there,

    I just installed Asset UPnP on my Windows Home Server in order to play FLAC files with Windows Media Player 12 on Windows 7. However, I can't get it to work.

    Problems are:
    • Tracks are shown more than once. For example there are two instances of track 1, etc.
    • Neither MP3 nor FLAC files will play. WMP is very busy saying "Media Changing...". The message "Windows Media Player cannot play the file" appears. I did set the checkmark before "FLAC" in the AssetUPnP settings window. I tried multiple options (Wave, LPCM, MP3) but it doesn't really change anything.
    • Irregular behaviour when browsing the server from WMP12. Tracks appear and dissappear, some are shown twice whilst others are not.
    • There is a "Unknown Artist" which says "Disk 55,08 GB free of 56,32 GB". I don't expect this to show up here.


    I hope someone can help, because I would to get this thing to work.

    Regards,
    Mr_Jummy

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,476

    Re: Can't play FLAC files on WMP12

    WMP12 is a huge step backwards on WMP11 as far as UPnP support is concerned, it will be Asset v3 before support for WMP12 (specifically targeted) is added.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6

    Re: Can't play FLAC files on WMP12

    Thanks Spoon,

    It's a shame that Microsoft didn't pay more attention to this in the development of WMP12.

    Does the current alpha release of Asset UPnP V3 include the WMP12 enhancements you mentioned?

    Regards,
    Mr_jummy

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,476

    Re: Can't play FLAC files on WMP12

    No

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6

    Re: Can't play FLAC files on WMP12

    Spoon,

    I'm having the exact same problem. Any idea on when an updated version will correct this problem?

    I'm currently not able to use Asset or RipNAS because of this problem.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,476

    Re: Can't play FLAC files on WMP12

    Asset v3 works in WMP 12 now (in the beta section of this forum).

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •