title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Duplicate entries for every track in WMP12/Win7

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    20

    Duplicate entries for every track in WMP12/Win7

    I've installed Asset 2 on my WHS and I can access media on it fine from my XBox 360, but when I try and access it from my PC's running Win 7 WMP12, I get multiple or incomplete track lists for the albums - i.e. sometimes the same track listed 4 or 5 times.

    Anyone else see this? The server also has Squeezebox server running on it (pointing to the same share as Asset). I also see the Asset server rescanning the directory again and again - what logic does the server use to decide when to rescan and might there be a conflict with Squeezebox server making it rescan all the time. However, I only see the duplicate tracks on WMP12 - it's fine on the XBox, so I don't think it's just that if it's related.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,655

    Re: Duplicate entries for every track in WMP12/Win7

    You need to edit the browse tree to make it very simple (no [album] inside of artist).

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    20

    Re: Duplicate entries for every track in WMP12/Win7

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    You need to edit the browse tree to make it very simple (no [album] inside of artist).
    Nope - not that. I've removed everything apart from Root->Artist->Album and I'm still getting dupes. Now, those dupes are multiple versions of the track names. So, for "You Learn" by Alanis Morissette, which is track 1, I get

    1 You Learn
    You Learn
    You Learn [Alanis Morissette]

    and the same for each track.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,655

    Re: Duplicate entries for every track in WMP12/Win7

    Try only having the title item in the tree.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    20

    Re: Duplicate entries for every track in WMP12/Win7

    Hi Spoon

    Ok - with just root->Title and nothing else, I get two identical entries per track - Trackname [Artist]. Any other ideas to try or test?

    Thanks

    pete S

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,655

    Re: Duplicate entries for every track in WMP12/Win7

    We will have to encode into asset v3 to detect wmp and only give out special listings, which is ashame as the whole idea of upnp is not to have to be program or device specific. WMP11 is a step backwards from WMP10, or 9

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    20

    Re: Duplicate entries for every track in WMP12/Win7

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    We will have to encode into asset v3 to detect wmp and only give out special listings, which is ashame as the whole idea of upnp is not to have to be program or device specific. WMP11 is a step backwards from WMP10, or 9
    Thanks Spoon. Happy to help with testing etc. as required - my ... erm ... employment means that I do tend to be running up to date and beta builds of MS software.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •