title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: Converting MP3 To Compressed Wav

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    4

    Converting MP3 To Compressed Wav

    Ok I have been using this program for the longest and I love it , its the best yet . I use it to convert Mp3 to compressed wav and or to take a compressed wav and convert to a MP3. All of a sudden ive started getting this error message while converting MP3 to wav (wav to Mp3 still works for now lol ). The codec required to compress could file name could not be opened. It will not let me compress any of my mp3's ?? any clue why all of a sudden this would happen, best of my knowledge i have changed nothing on my computer, I am running windows xp home version.
    please let me know if you need any further information

    thanks

    Laurie

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,048
    Try pressing 'Change Settings' for the Wave options.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy still not working now have no mpeg 3 layer option

    ok i tried playing around with the settings and I hit cd quality , now I cant even get mpeg 3layer to come up as an option. what do I do now, Ive tried uninstalling and reinstalling and its not changing anything . i usually compress to mpeg-3layer 32kbits

    please let me know what else i can try .. thanks

    Laurie

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,048
    You are missing l3codec.acm, try installing WMA v9 system files, I think it is in there.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy Still no luck

    ok Ive installed the wma codec and I have restarted my computer. when i try to go to convert I get 4 options now wave, mp3 lame , mp3 Blade & windows media audio 9, but when i click on wav, still no mpeg 3 layer option. and it shows cd quality on the main convert screen and when i click on change format it will not allow me to get rid of cd quality, when i try and pull up my saved settings for my wav compression its telling me its unavailable. I do have the codec you mentioned in my windows sytem32 file, please help this is driving me nuts and I dont know what else to do ??:cry:

    Thanks again

    Laurie

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,048
    Find someone with the same Windows version and ask for their file, the one with WMA must be decode only.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy same problem

    can you please be more specific, what exactly am i supposed to be doing with this file? I have it in my windows system directory ,where else is it supposed to be. I have a windows xp disc would it be on there . If so please tell me where to put it. and how could it have disappeared, the program has been working for me for a LONG time , then all of a sudden it wont work anymore, then the mpeg codec disappears, why would this happen , if its something i may have done please let me know so that I can make sure this doesnt happen again .

    thanks
    laurie

  8. #8

    Re: same problem

    Laurie, Did you ever get your dbpower amp to =work properly? I have the exact same problem...I can not find the codec i need this is driving me crazy . Like you I have used this since it was called the shuffler.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    11

    Re: Converting MP3 To Compressed Wav

    Just a thought. There is a Windows Media Player 9 (works with 10 too) codec installer. you can find it at the windows update catalog site

    http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.co...en/default.asp


    I downloaded it myself it is about 824 kb in size. My understanding is that it installs a bunch of codecs so that you will not have to let WMP go online and find codecs on an "as needed basis". It may contain some useful codec I dont know. Let me give you the file name since they did not give this the traditional 8 digit update number.

    it is: wm9codecs.exe and it is 824 kb.


    the thing i don't know...what has wma got to do with it anyway? I am missing something, but I am giving something, perhaps the harbinger of knowlege will clear things up.

    - Grrrrr8

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,048
    I know there are two versions of this file, but I am not 100% sure where it comes from, if you drop me an email I will send you mine which works fine. dbpoweramp@dbpoweramp.com

  11. #11

    Re: Converting MP3 To Compressed Wav

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon
    I know there are two versions of this file, but I am not 100% sure where it comes from, if you drop me an email I will send you mine which works fine. dbpoweramp@dbpoweramp.com
    I'm having the same problem....no mpeg Layer 3 shows up as an option for Wave compression. I tried the LameACM install which did not bring it back. Also installed the latest version of dBpower amp, but that didn't work either. What to do??? What to do???


    ---Mike

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,048

    Re: Converting MP3 To Compressed Wav

    Lame acm should be independant of dbpoweramp, try sound recorder as save as to select its compression.

  13. #13

    Re: Converting MP3 To Compressed Wav

    Spoon,

    I appreciate your trying to help me. Unfortunately I have no Sound Recorder option either. I am really stumped here. Any other suggestiions? Please!

    Mike

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,048

    Re: Converting MP3 To Compressed Wav

    It comes with windows - Start >> Programs >> Accessories

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Re: Converting MP3 To Compressed Wav

    Okies, I am new here, but I have been reading this thread and pulling my hair out at the same time lol. I also cannot find the MPEG3 option in the "compressed" (change format) dropdown box of the Wave conversion in DBpowerAmp anymore.

    I have been using DBpowerAmp version r10 for a long time, but recently bought a new computer with windows 7 operating system. Since reinstalling DBPowerAmp r10 on my new computer I cannot find the MPEG3 option anymore. Where did it go? I am guessing from the posts I have seen in this thread it is a missing codec issue, however, after following advice from Spoon, in addition to checking the Codec central, I have no idea what Codec I am looking for. lol. I cannot seem to find it in Codec Central.

    The reason I prefer the MPEG3 "Compressed" Wave format option is because I use an email program called Incredimail which allows you to import wave files into Incredimail as well as imbed wave files into an outgoing email for listening pleasure. The MPEG3 "compressed" wave option allows for the file to be compressed to a moderately small size which is very nice for use in outgoing emails. If you currently have the codec I need available in Codec central or if anyone knows the exact name of the codec which will give me back the MPEG3 Wave option under the "Compressed" dropdown box, I would appreciate any and all help you may be able to offer very much.

    On a final note, if there is another setting currently available in the DBPowerAmp that will compress a wave file to the small size that the "Compressed" MPEG3 use to ... I would sure love to know what that setting is if I cannot get the MPEG3 option back lol

    Thanks
    Catnbout

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •