title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Thread: Set config option to change ratings scale for FLAC

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Set config option to change ratings scale for FLAC

I'm a noob at this. I've started ripping to FLAC and I'm using MediaMonkey for library managment. I've run across the same problem a lot of people seem to have: dBPA ratings for FLAC are 1-5, MM uses 1-100, so all ratings turn into "bombs" in MM.

Is there a configuration option that allows the ratings to be "scaled" at time of rip? Input the max value and have all the ratings scaled to that value? I can't find anything in Configuration or Encoder areas.

Alternatively, can I use the ID Tag Processing DSP to achieve this? If so, can anybody point me in the general direction of how I would go about this?

Administrator

Re: Set config option to change ratings scale for FLAC

There is no standard for Rating in FLAC, a 3rd program would be different again... (there is no scale factor for FLAC ratings)

OK, yo comprendez, but:
    1. No way to use the ID Tag Processing?
    2. If the FLAC encoder tab had a "Rating Scale Max" field, couldn't dBPA multiply the ratings by the scale factor so that the user would at least get good ratings for the player of their choice?

PS: Impressive response time and coverage! And nice program!

Administrator

It is not that simple, as I have said another program (perhaps foobar) might store as a different tag value, so until it becomes an official standard, or used on more than one program we cannot specifically support it.

Hi,
    I have the same problem, ripping with dbpoweramp to flac and playing with mediamonkey the ratings are 1-5 but mediamonkey requires 1-100. This is the single biggest drawback to dbpoweramp in my opinion as it means the ratings you take care to enter are useless.