title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Thread: Totally stuck on .m4a to .mp3 conversion

Unhappy Totally stuck on .m4a to .mp3 conversion

Hi. Please help me :-) ... I am new to dbPoweramp ... am trying to convert an iTunes .m4a library to .mp3 so that I can import it into SAM Party DJ, which does not open .m4a files. I know I am missing something dead obvious, so I apologize in advance.

I am using an ASUS notebook with Intel Centrino duo core (1800) and external storage (lots of free space) on a USB 2.0 drive (I've tried conversion on C drive and it doesn't work there either). Windows XP/SP3 with 2 GB RAM and lots of open, fast HD storage. Registry cleaned weekly, drives defragged nightly, scan lots for viruses and spyware. i.e. clean, reasonably fast machine - runs most programs flawlessly.

I tried .m4a to .mp3 conversions using the demo/trial version and it always got stuck at the very beginning of the "Converting" dialog box. It correctly identifies the number of files it is to convert but then does nothing. The dialog box just sits there looking like it is thinking :-) ... below file number it says "examining source & overwrite check" with one "+" sign in the bracketed progress (?) field. The files that I am converting are NOT read only or otherwise write-protected, and I have full administrator privileges for the write.

The problem is the same with a single file and with a number of selected files (with either right click in Explorer or manual start of program both). Won't convert 1 song, won't convert 21 songs. No matter how long you wait for it.

I had the current codecs installed for .mp3 and .m4a and .aac